436/536 decode ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SCOTTER

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
254
Location
SOUTH BEND IN.
Can you set each system decode to auto or manual with the 436/536 ? The reason I ask is I have two very active systems in my area. The one is a Motorola type 2 and the other is a Project 25 phase 1.When I had my 396T I set it on manual 7 for the Project 25 and it was spot on with err rates of 0 to 3 and 11 for the Motorola type 2.When I got the XT that all went away. Thanks for any help.
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,293
Location
Louisville, KY
Yes, in fact this setting (called Digital Threshold Mode) is done by site. There is another setting to weak digital performance (Digital Threshold Level) which is also set by site.

Thus you could have a system such as the Indiana state system, with its numerous sites. You could have Site "A" set to auto and Site "B" set to manual. Whatever works best for you.
 

SOFA_KING

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2004
Messages
1,580
Location
SE Florida
Can you set each system decode to auto or manual with the 436/536 ? The reason I ask is I have two very active systems in my area. The one is a Motorola type 2 and the other is a Project 25 phase 1.When I had my 396T I set it on manual 7 for the Project 25 and it was spot on with err rates of 0 to 3 and 11 for the Motorola type 2.When I got the XT that all went away. Thanks for any help.
Yes, you can.

I use Manual 9 for my VHF and UHF conventional P25, Manual 10 for three 800 trunked systems, and what looks like Manual 6 on my new county 9600 P25 system, although they have not migrated over yet. I also just realized the Florida Provoice SLERS system also uses threshold settings. It shows the error rate. Did it always do that? I need to test more on this, but Auto 8 showed 0 errors.

One advantage for the x36 scanner line, no doubt.

Phil
 

SCOTTER

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
254
Location
SOUTH BEND IN.
Thanks you guys are great for your quick replys im tired of moving my 396xt around the end table to get good results because by the time the auto decode works you miss some of the dispatch at times.BTW what scanner do you have 436 or 536 ?
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,105
Location
NW Tenn
They all do something different 8 of them are logging audio TG's UID's on PROSCAN and I travel with 5 Handhelds in the car plus 2 SDR and 2 other receivers. Each scanner tracking a system or group
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,293
Location
Louisville, KY
Thanks you guys are great for your quick replys im tired of moving my 396xt around the end table to get good results because by the time the auto decode works you miss some of the dispatch at times.BTW what scanner do you have 436 or 536 ?
If I'm reading the database correctly on the Indiana state system, the St. Joseph county area is a simulcast deal. I see much better simulcast decode with my 436 and 536s than my 396XT or 996XT.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top