SDS100/SDS200: Accessibility, firmware changes that would help

Status
Not open for further replies.

wb9rsq

Premium Subscriber
My understanding of the SDS100 and the entire process behind programming it is still far from perfect.
Up front I want to make several points clear since I have been blasted and flamed in other forums simply for expecting blind users to be provided with the same access and functional usage of radio scanning products as sighted consumers.
If you can't acknowledge that basic right please don't bother to respond at all.

I have more than 35 years of experience in computing and technology related fields.
I have served as a beta tester for many screen reading products as well as various devices designed to provide some sort of audio feedback related to successful operation.

In order to be effective I kneed to understand how a device or product should behave and what information is required for a blind user to interact with that product.
Because the SDS100 is new to me as well as the concepts behind its programming and operation I apologize for any errors I make in describing what I want it to do and how it fails to supply me with the feedback I need.

In addition because it is difficult to read the massive amount of posts in all the forums here and on other sites I also may touch on features or functions already discussed and that have been dismissed as impossible or unreasonable.

In general I have found the BCDX36HP software to be quite useful and most if not quite all elements are read by Jaws for Windows, one of the screen readers I run.
The most difficult areas are the tabs within the profile settings. Several of the controls are being read with the wrong labels.
I suspect this is related to where in the screen layout the label for the control is placed.
However my primary concerns are with the radio so that is the focus of this message.

Without speech output to guide the blind user the only real option is sound.