Antenna question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shinobi1

I am brand new to scanners as of this week. I successfully got my Uniden BCD325P2 programmed and up running yesterday. While I'm learning all the ins and outs of this scanner, I'm curious if a longer antenna would be better. The six inch one that came with it seems totally fine, but every now and then things are either much quieter or broken up a bit. I won't be attaching anything to the roof. Maybe down the road, but I don't want to get ahead of myself.

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
Generally speaking, a lot depends on the frequencies that you will be monitoring. A number of folks listen to different bands, such as VHF High, UHF and 800. So they use wide band antennas.

Strangely enough if you are monitoring a simulcast system, having a better antenna could be detrimental to signal decoding. So what kind of system you monitor may be a factor.

n1chu

Premium Subscriber
Generally speaking, an outside gain antenna, mounted as high as practical, is the practice when attempting to improve signal strength. But first, program what you want and see what kind of reception success you have. There are limits to how far away you will hear a system so before you decide you need an outside, bigger, gain antenna, research if your expectations are reasonable with respect to distance. Go slow, learn a bit, enjoy a bit. If you get around to an outside mounted antenna, be sure it’s installed as per local building code.

Ubbe

Maybe it would be suitable to start with a bigger indoor antenna, a magnetmount in the window or a good place in the room with a tripple band antenna. It could then also be used on a car roof.

/Ubbe

bob550

Premium Subscriber