Automatic Antenna Switch?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SirSmith

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
24
Location
Mount Zion, IL
I recently purchased a 2M antenna with the goal of making an iGate in an area void of one. I was also hoping to use the same antenna to boost the gain of my scanner. Is there a way of connecting both to the same antenna without "blowing up" the scanner when the iGate transmits? Thanks!

W8TDS


W8TDS
 

LtDoc

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
2,145
Location
Oklahoma
I guess it just depends on how much you are willing to spend. A duplexer is one way, but they are not given away. Sit down before asking price! A second option for that scanner is some other antenna, it doesn't have to be much, almost anything will work to some extent. Not a very 'satisfying' answer, huh?
- 'Doc
 

SirSmith

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
24
Location
Mount Zion, IL
Thanks for the info. I had looked at duplexers but was hoping since the scanner was a receive only application that one wouldn't be needed. Since the iGate operates on one specific frequency would it be possible to split the antenna feed and then use a band-stop filter?
 

n8zcc

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
197
Location
Oakland, Michigan
Thanks for the info. I had looked at duplexers but was hoping since the scanner was a receive only application that one wouldn't be needed. Since the iGate operates on one specific frequency would it be possible to split the antenna feed and then use a band-stop filter?
You will need to notch out the transmit frequency. That is not going to be cheap to do nor it is space saving at 2 meters, you will need a duplexer, like what is used for a repeater.
 

SirSmith

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
24
Location
Mount Zion, IL
A duplexes would allow them to operate simultaneously. I wouldn't mind if the scanner feed got cut out when the iGate transmitted. Is this a possibility?


W8TDS
 

timkilbride

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
1,841
Location
Iowa County, Iowa
For the price it will cost you use the two radio's on one antenna(same band), it would be far cheaper to buy a second antenna and coax.

Tim
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top