Cheaper alternative to the st-2 antenna ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

easybullet3

I'm new to RTL-SDR and I live about 11miles (16km) from Heathrow Airport in London.
My apartment is on the 3rd floor of a building, and I am facing in the direction of the airport.

Many people mention that its hard to hear the Control Tower (unless you actually go to Heathrow).

However, someone said that a ST-2 antenna is really good and may get luck to hear the Control Tower from my flat.

on ebay (UK), its around £200 !!
Does anyone know of any budget cheap antennas which perform well ?
even better,, can I do well with a make-shift length of copper wire plugged into the RTL-SDR ?

vagrant

ker-muhj-uhn
Premium Subscriber
The ST-2 antenna does work reasonably well, I have two. Still, it is rather large and not worth £200. You would be better served with an antenna that provides some gain around 118 MHz for the tower, or the usual aircraft 118-137 MHz range if you want to try and hear more airport traffic. Thus, look for an aircraft band antenna specifically tuned for that 118-137 MHz range. ( If you want to monitor other stuff as well, then a discone will work, but it will not have the RF gain a purpose built aircraft band antenna will. )

Additionally, FM broadcast radio can be very unfriendly when trying to monitor airport communications due to the tremendous amounts of power they use. You may want to source and place a filter inline on your coax that will reduce the FM broadcast stations, yet allow the tower communication to get through. Perhaps give the following thread a read through to see what filter would best suit your needs.

popnokick

Premium Subscriber
Put one of these in a window facing the airport for the purpose of running a test to see if you have ANY signal at all from the tower, even if weak. It's a low-cost way to determine whether a more expensive antenna... such as a directional yagi or airband-specific antenna will improve the signal -