• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

CPS R 05.03.00 mod

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
21
Location
australia
if you can enter the out of band frequencys you should be able to save it does come up with some sort of message about out of band just click ok i have modified almost every cps with no problems
 

ladn

Explorer of the Frequency Spectrum
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
622
Location
Southern California and sometimes Owens Valley
The radio I am trying to program is a UHF high split XTS 3000. When I enter a frequency below 445.0000 MHz. in either Rx or Tx on a conventional personality, the field comes up with a red border and the cursor displays the null character (a Greek phi symbol).

When I go to save the codeplug, the CPS won't let me save and shows me the sections where the "error" is.

If I enter a frequency from 445.0000 MHz. to 449.950 Mhz. the CPS accepts it and merely gives a waring that the frequency entered is beyond the range of the radio; but it lets me save the codeplug.
 

zz0468

QRT
Banned
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
I've used what amounts to the same published hack with success. The band limits are in hex, and what you want to do is move the 450.000 MHz band limit down to 440.000 MHz. You shouldn't have to go lower than that unless you actually need to program that low. I used Hex workshop, then did a search and replace, replacing hex 80 74 D2 1A with 00 DE 39 1A.

I've found as many as 24 instances of the band edge that needed to be changed before it would work right. It's not in my notes, but sometimes you have to fix the checksum, and return it to it's original value, so if all else fails, try that. IIRC, that was only necessary in the DOS RSS hacks, but it's something to think about.
 

ladn

Explorer of the Frequency Spectrum
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
622
Location
Southern California and sometimes Owens Valley
I figured out what my problem was.

I was modifying only the "hard" band edges by changing 450 to 440. When I went in and changed the "soft" edges from 445 to 440, the program stopped complaining and worked like a charm.

Once that was accomplished, I brought the edges down to 439 because I use a couple of 439 MHz frequencies, and resaved without issues. PLL still locks properly on Tx/Rx.

Life is good again.
 

ElroyJetson

I AM NOT YOUR TECH SUPPPORT.
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,536
Location
DO NOT ASK ME FOR HELP PROGRAMMING YOUR RADIO. NO.
Do global string search and replace operations and it'll work right.

One thing that interests me is that the specific type of detector/demodulation scheme used in all Astro radios is theoretically capable of working in AM mode if it were programmed correctly. It would be nice to switch to AM mode on a VHF radio when the bandsplit was hacked down into the aircraft band, for easy listening to aircraft traffic.

Of course I have no idea how to do that.


Elroy
 

jusromaine

Newbie
Joined
Apr 16, 2017
Messages
4
Ok let's try this again I have a legal copy of xts300 programming software and every time I try codes listed here to lower the 450 to 440 it won't let me in hex edit it just goes red and won't let me lower the band limit I have pcs r05.03. That I purchase it though motorola. Is there I'm doing wrong I have xts3000 450 split.

I was hit with infractions for asking some one to edit my exe file for me so can some one pass me in a direction to the Wright hex code to change the lower limit done it many times for the mts2000 And Mcs but can't figure it out for the xts.
 

KevinC

Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
6,104
Location
Somewhere other than home :(
Ok let's try this again I have a legal copy of xts300 programming software and every time I try codes listed here to lower the 450 to 440 it won't let me in hex edit it just goes red and won't let me lower the band limit I have pcs r05.03. That I purchase it though motorola. Is there I'm doing wrong I have xts3000 450 split.

I was hit with infractions for asking some one to edit my exe file for me so can some one pass me in a direction to the Wright hex code to change the lower limit done it many times for the mts2000 And Mcs but can't figure it out for the xts.
No, you were hit with an infraction for this line in your now deleted post...

"Is there a way some one could email me a copy of the exe modified". Which violates this RR rule...

https://forums.radioreference.com/motorola-forum/74748-you-looking-free-programming-software.html
 

jusromaine

Newbie
Joined
Apr 16, 2017
Messages
4
Yes but I also stated that I would send them mine and they send it back. I apologize that it may have seemed that way but I have account with motorola to get my stuff thru but didn't mean for it too come across as me being a blank. Just couldn't get a hold of who talked to me first
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,877
Location
Central Ontario
Yes but I also stated that I would send them mine and they send it back.

Yes, you did state that after you asked somebody to send you a copy. Still doesn't make asking for copyrighted software right.

There's no point in arguing this back and forth. We're done.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top