edacs narrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

uni396xt

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
23
Location
uni396xt
Hi,

I am new into trunking - I own a 396xt and while scanning the band I have bumped into a Edacs 'data sound'. I tried to set it up, but all I know is the one frequency I have scanned and that it's a Narrow type because I can see SID on my display when set to Narrow. But I don't know LCN.. Is there any way to find what I need in order to listen to? I tried to search for ID but it just keeps scanning without a beep. I am not from U.S. so no radio reference database will help me..
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,288
Location
Arlington, TX
License lookup is probably not available outside the US.

You will have to use brute force and luck. For EDACS systems you need to know every voice channel frequency as well as the LCN assigned to each frequency.

You might be able to use Unitrunker to at least capture the LCN's, then scan for voice traffic in the general frequency band until you catch the actual voice channel frequencies being used. Probably be good to use some logging software to catch the channels and traffic.
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,288
Location
Arlington, TX
That would be great...but he is not in the USA so likely doesn't have any facility for looking up frequencies.
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
License lookup is probably not available outside the US.

You will have to use brute force and luck. For EDACS systems you need to know every voice channel frequency as well as the LCN assigned to each frequency.

You might be able to use Unitrunker to at least capture the LCN's, then scan for voice traffic in the general frequency band until you catch the actual voice channel frequencies being used. Probably be good to use some logging software to catch the channels and traffic.
In this case I would use a second radio with the search mode set to a narrow set of frequencies to see if I can catch the voice channel and note the LCN on UniTrunker at the same time. Once you get a couple of voice frequencies, you should be able to get them fairly quick, providing it's a busy system. You could get lucky and have sequential frequencies, i.e. 856.8825, 857.8825, 858.8825, etc.
 

uni396xt

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
23
Location
uni396xt
Hi,

so what do I do now is to set the Unitrunker to capture LCNs and then try to scan around the data chanel frequency to capture some conversation? How much above/below the data chanel freq should I scan? I can use two scanners.. I just need to know where to start :)
thanks guys.
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,288
Location
Arlington, TX
Yep, Unitrunker will tell you LCNs and will also let you know when a channel is active. If you can catch the system during a slow period (when it is less likely that multiple channels will be active) you will have a better chance at mapping LCNs to the specific frequencies. As to where to look...well, there is no set rule, but in general you'll be most likely to find other channels on the system within +/- 20 MHz.
 

uni396xt

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
23
Location
uni396xt
hi,

So finally I have set the unitrunker properly and I have found out it's a Provoice system.. Is it possible to decode that? Or should I not bother.. It still did not give me any LCN's just RIDs.. what should I do now? it seems a little complicated to me..
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
22,128
Location
Bowie, Md.
No scanner can decode ProVoice. There is a way to do it, but it's rather involved. Our chief developed it and it's in the wiki, somewhere....I'd have to dig a little to find it. 73 Mike
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top