BCD325P2/BCD996P2: GPS question

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrFTAMan

Premium Subscriber
I installed a GPS receiver to my 996P2 scanner. After installing, I saw that the GPS kicked in (the GPS receiver blinking and the scanner screen stated that the “GPS connected.” I programmed the latitude and longitude in setup. My question is when I go to a different county or different state, does the 996P2 automatically bring in the frequencies of those areas? Or do I need to program that county or state frequencies into the scanner before going to those different areas? I’m hoping the 996P2 would automatically scan.
I’m new at this.
thanks

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
The GPS device only reports location to the scanner. The scanner will then select the "stuff" that should be turned on or off based on the reported location. The "stuff" has to be in the scanner beforehand and for this model scanner, you have to program it.

The later generations of scanners (the x36 and the SDS lines) have the full database programmed. That's what you might be thinking of.

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
I installed a GPS receiver to my 996P2 scanner. After installing, I saw that the GPS kicked in (the GPS receiver blinking and the scanner screen stated that the “GPS connected.” I programmed the latitude and longitude in setup. My question is when I go to a different county or different state, does the 996P2 automatically bring in the frequencies of those areas? Or do I need to program that county or state frequencies into the scanner before going to those different areas? I’m hoping the 996P2 would automatically scan.
I’m new at this.
thanks
You would need to program the frequencies for the other counties, along with their location details. As ofd8001 noted, the GPS will update the actual location, and the scanner will only utilize those sites and groups that are within the range you specify.

MrFTAMan

Premium Subscriber
Ok thank you, guys. I’ll go to RR to seek the frequencies.