GPS Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

AC0RV

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Messages
1,493
Location
Park Hills, MO
Can I still use my Garmin Etrex Legend with the 436HP.

Also would like to use my Garmin Etrex 20 with it as well. I can use it and how do I get to do so ?


Note: Moderator, If this thread is in the wrong spot, Please place it where it should and thanks.
 
Last edited:

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,293
Location
Louisville, KY
The Garmin Etrex Legend is a NMEA compatible device. The following comes from page 60 of the manual:

For the BCD436HP, use the 4-pin mini plug to connect to the scanner using a NMEA compatible GPS device. The BCD536HP has a 9-pin RS232 male serial connector and you should select a baud rate of (4800 bps) for the serial port.
 

AC0RV

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Messages
1,493
Location
Park Hills, MO
Do I need to use the adpaters (null modem and gender changing) with the 436 HP ?

I know the 536HP uses DB9 plug so I will not those to hook the unit with the Unidens GPS Unit,


thanks
 

Hit_Factor

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
989
Location
Saint Joseph, MI
The trick will be finding the correct cables or making them. A couple post up tells you what you need to plug into the scanner. You have the eTrex and can figure out that end.

If you can handle 4 leads, solder and a soldering iron you should be good to go.
 

calking

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 2, 2010
Messages
8
Location
Fort McMurray, Alberta
Compatible GPS units for the BCD436HP

I guess no one can answer my question about Extrex 20 and the 436/536 HP.

Oh well.
Please be patient, someone will try and help you. It may take a little time but in most cases you will receive and answer. :)

This is a list of compatible devices for the BCD436HP, There may be more.. Thanks to Jay911 for forwarding me this list..

Scannerforce GPS
* Garmin GPS 18 Note: Superceded by GPS 18x PC
* Delorme Tripmate (with modification for autostart)
* GARMIN eTreX Note: Now discontinued
* GARMIN eTreX Legend Note: Now discontinued
* GARMIN eMap Note: Now discontinued
* GARMIN Rino110
* GARMIN GPS 18 PC Note: Superceded by GPS 18x PC
* GARMIN GPS 18x PC
* GARMIN 12XL Note: Now discontinued
* GARMIN GPSmap 60CS(x) (needs Garmin 010-10141-00 or equivalent cable) Note :CS is discontinued CSx is still available.
* GARMIN GPS2 Plus Note: Now discontinued
* Lowrance iFinder GO2
* MAGELLAN Meridian Marine Note: Now discontinued
* MAGELLAN Triton 2000 with 930-0017-001 Serial Cable (or equivalent serial cable).
* Uniden Mystic
* GPS1 Module Kit sold via Scannersoft website Note: No longer available.
* HOLUX Mouse GR-213 (when ordered with a serial cable)

The Etrex 20 uses a USB interface and may not be compatible...

Cal
 

blackmonte

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 7, 2014
Messages
27
Location
Berryville Arkansas
GARMIN GPSmap 60CS(x) (needs Garmin 010-10141-00 or equivalent cable) Note :CS is discontinued CSx is still available.[/QUOTE said:
Is anyone using this setup with the 436? Looking at a pic of the cable 010-10141-00 it doesn't look like the cable end would be compatible without some kind of adaptor?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

AC0RV

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Messages
1,493
Location
Park Hills, MO
I know this is a stupid question. But how long does it take to auto locate your location using a gps unit ? I am using the garmin Etrex lengend.
 

JamesO

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
1,813
Location
McLean, VA
I know this is a stupid question. But how long does it take to auto locate your location using a gps unit ? I am using the garmin Etrex lengend.
Its a function of the GPS unit and how long it takes to acquire the satellites/location, not really a function of the scanner.
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,288
Location
Arlington, TX
A cold start (GPS has a very "stale" last location) can take 3-5 minutes with a ciear view of the sky. Warm start can be as short as 20 seconds.
 

phask

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,117
Location
KZZV - SE Ohio
I know this is a stupid question. But how long does it take to auto locate your location using a gps unit ? I am using the garmin Etrex lengend.
Auto Locate - don't confuse the new scanners auto locate with GPS - different functions.

Cold start varies for many things,amount of time since last power on, if GPS has moved from last location sine re-powering. Whether moving or still,, how far North or South, number of visible sats., and on and on.

Under a minute is a good avg. for re0start in the same, fixed location.
 

AC0RV

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Messages
1,493
Location
Park Hills, MO
Sorry another gps question

Ok does the 436 HP have auto loacate before it begins to locate groups,sites with the accordance with the GPS location ?
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,288
Location
Arlington, TX
I'm sorry, but I do not understand your question. But, for clarity, "Auto Locate" is not a GPS function. Auto Locate uses radio tower signals to approximate your location. So, if you don't actually mean that function, probably best to use some other terminology.
 

davenlr

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2014
Messages
637
Location
North Little Rock, Ar
Is there a way to display the current GPS location on the screen?

By the way, after using this on my 436 in my truck all week, all I can say is you guys did a fantastic job. After the first day of fine tuning, and locking out (opps, permanantly avoiding) several recurring noise frequencies, I have not had to really touch the scanner at all. Range is excellent with a gain type roof antenna. Good job.
 

AC0RV

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Messages
1,493
Location
Park Hills, MO
ok I guess I need to go back and read up on the Location Based scanning.


I have all the GPS Coordinates loaded into the scanner, I have also set the ranges for the locations. and have attached the scanner. I have also check the port speed to 4800 bps for the garmin lengend gps.

I have not yet seen the 436hp lock out any sites/groups from the list. I have missed something.

I still learning about the 436HP.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top