Kawartha Lakes (County/City Lindsay)

rneals

Rosco P. Coltrane
Feed Provider
This is probably a bit unusual as a post about a radio system because I've written up a lot of detail.
As background, I was a radio systems engineer for a few years at the batwing company, and worked in technology for quite a few years.

Broadcastify Stream for CKL Fire
A broadcastify stream for Kawartha Lakes Fire is now active. Kawartha Lakes County Ontario Live Audio Feeds
It's a Uniden scanner with 5 frequencies 152.465 (Paging), 153.005 (Lindsay Tower), 150.830 (South Tower), 153.995 (Northwest Tower), 153.710 (Northeast Tower).
Northeast and Northwest towers/repeater are weak in Lindsay, largely because they are on short towers (under 100 ft).

Paging Tone-Out
Using the audio archives from Broadcastify, I ran the various paging tones thorough a PC based audio spectrum analyzer and deciphered the paging tone-outs, and figured out the numbering scheme/cap code for all 19 stations, the all call, etc. I've updated the Wiki.

Pro-tip: when decoding tone outs with a frequency counter, consult the Motorola Quick Call II tone frequency chart, and find the actual reed frequency and group that is a best match for what you've measured. They will not be random frequencies, the original tone chart and precise frequencies were chosen so that audio harmonics would not falsely trigger other reeds/tones.

Kawartha Lakes Fire Paging Backgrounder:
Kawartha Lakes Fire Stations are dispatched by the Kawartha Lakes Police Service from the Police station on Victoria Avenue.

They use a telephone to dial into the paging encoder (You often hear them hang up the telephone receiver and hear telephone busy tones at the end of the page)
The paging tones/cap codes for the 19 stations (1 full-time+ volunteer/18 volunteer) are documented in the wiki.

Technical: