• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Line in Recording/playback

Status
Not open for further replies.

baddandy23

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
142
Location
Ohio
Any one know how to get the audio playback from a line in cable over the computer speakers? I can't figure the darn thing out. It will record from the line in and play back fine but won't play the audio in real time from scanner to pc speakers
 

wogggieee

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
1,210
Location
Hugo , MN
Make sure the line in is unmuted in the mixer in both the regular mixer and the recording mixer. Also make sure that it is actually plugged into the line in jack and not the mic jack.
 

LordJ

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
635
Location
South-Eastern, Ontario
I will go over what my system is set up as. Speaker out on the scanner goes to the line in of the computer. In Volume properties for playback, I have selected use preferred device, and nothing is muted and line in volume level is about 1/2 way. For recording it is the same. What radio are you using?
 

zz0468

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
5,971
Location
175 DME, HEC 358° Radial
WindowsXP, I presume? I can control that function on my PC by clicking on the volume control icon and opening up the mixer panel. Click on Options, then Properties. You can then select settings for recording and playback. Try different settings under both options.

Your computer may be different. I use the Windows XP audio devices, and see the same general layout on several computers.
 

bonus1331

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
978
Location
Hogansville, Ga
Don't know what type of PC your attempting this on, but I had the same issue with my Dell Latitude laptop. Seems Dell ships with the registry affecting the supplied OEM soundcard so that you can't listen through the speakers when using line in.
Used the attach instructions to change a couple of things in the registry and I'm now good to go.
(I'm not a tweaker of any kind, so don't be too concerned about screwing anything up).

http://www.notebookforums.com/thread85933.html
 

MaxMan1986

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
147
Some computers just don't have that capability no matter what you do. Unfortunately my laptop is one of those computers. :(
 

bonus1331

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
978
Location
Hogansville, Ga
MaxMan1986 said:
Some computers just don't have that capability no matter what you do. Unfortunately my laptop is one of those computers. :(
That's what I thought until I found the above.
Some PC manufacturers just disable these features for some unknown reason.
 

MaxMan1986

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
147
bonus1331 said:
That's what I thought until I found the above.
Some PC manufacturers just disable these features for some unknown reason.
That seems to be true of many Dell laptops, but mine is a Gateway and I've tried pretty much everything to no avail.
 

baddandy23

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
142
Location
Ohio
bonus1331 said:
Don't know what type of PC your attempting this on, but I had the same issue with my Dell Latitude laptop. Seems Dell ships with the registry affecting the supplied OEM soundcard so that you can't listen through the speakers when using line in.
Used the attach instructions to change a couple of things in the registry and I'm now good to go.
(I'm not a tweaker of any kind, so don't be too concerned about screwing anything up).

http://www.notebookforums.com/thread85933.html
this seems to be along the lines of what i am looking for. anything for a gigabyte motherboard with integrated audio by realtech?
 

kb2vxa

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Mar 22, 2005
Messages
6,126
Location
Point Pleasant Beach, N.J.
A lot depends on the sound device properties but it can be as simple as enabling .wav in the mixer panel. On board sound usually sucks which is why I use NVIDIA 5 channel surround.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top