SDS100/SDS200: Motorboating, Thrumming, ummmmm...

EricRF

Hi all... a beginner here craving knowledge and enlightenment. But I'll settle for some assistance.

When I put a set of headphones on my ears (connected to my SDS100), I'm hearing what I've seen called "thrumming" or "motorboating" sound (to me, "thrumming" seems more accurate) on certain channels. The sound is on top of (or behind?) the audio on the channel.
Conventional analog digital channels are OK
Trunk channels (at least the ones with any traffic) have the problem. I don't hear it through the speaker, just headphones, and only on trunked systems. And I believe this system is simucast.

Here's a sample channel:
Massachusetts State Police (Trunk)
State Police Troop A - North Greater Boston (Talkgroup)​
North Dispatch - A, A1, A2, A3, A6 (Channel)​
(I think I have the terminology right)

I can hear the audio OK, but the thrumming makes my brain dissolve. I can't hear any sign of it through the speaker. And, again, no sign of it on conventional analog or digital channels.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

KevinC

Other
Super Moderator
I’d vote for it’s the LSD (Low Speed Data) and your headphones have a much better frequency response than the internal speaker.

nd5y

That looks like a Type II analog system. On analog voice channels there is a low speed "subaudible" data stream similar to DCS (Digital Code Squelch) or the data stream used in LTR trunking.

If it is an analog simulcast system there could also be an effect from the multiple transmitters that can sound like that depending on your location in relation to the transmitters.

You are probably hearing one or more of the above.

EricRF

Thanks for your replies... Yep, it's labelled as a Motorola Type II SmartZone system. Are analog simucast systems prone to this problem on the SDS100?

So far we have:
  • Cheap $10 headphones with a better frequency response than the SDS100 speaker
  • LSD (which immediately made me think of the '60s)
  • Simucast side-effects