Need some suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to Amateur Radio / scanning , I currently have a old Radioshack pro 95 that I like to listen to local HAM repeaters and the LADD channels while driving, I've got a Dual Band 4 foot antenna mounted on my truck that is meant for 2 way operation but works well for scanning. I have loved listening to RCMP , STARS and Edmonton Police but I realize that soon I will not be able to listen to these transmissions due to going fully encrypted digital .

I want to upgrade to either a Dual band UHF / VHF Radio for my vehicle or a higher end scanner like the Uniden 325P2. I like the idea of having a mobile radio in my truck , especially while on holidays pulling my travel trailer around Alberta or even into BC.
I would like to be able to speak on the LADD channels if need be , as well as monitor them for traffic issues or whatever . I was looking at the Kenwood 281A radio . I can pick it up for under $200 on GPS Central.

Also, what will I realistically be able to listen to on a P25 capable scanner ? Is it really worth the $500? Is there much action on the AFRRCS channels? If I am using it to only monitor VHF Ham channels and the LADD channels, it seems like a waste .

Let me know what you guys think. I don't want to sink tons of money into this , Maybe $200 max .

Thanks

robertmac

Premium Subscriber