BCD436HP: Problems with N9600 conventional? NXDN

Status
Not open for further replies.

VA3DBJ

Ontario Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
470
Location
Durham Region, Ontario
I believe that helped. Of course, the NX9600 department is quite this afternoon...

Does NX9600 trunked need to be changed as well, or is it just an issue with conventional?

I had to change all 9600 trunks and conventional channels. It was the trunk system I was playing with at first.


VA3DBJ

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

frazpo

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
1,427
Location
SW Mo
Retracting my previous statement last night. I've seen this several times today now.

Holding on conventional channel.
When it doesn't decode, the signal bars don't even show anything. When it does, they go full.
Yes. The scanner acted as if there wasn't even a signal there.
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
13,465
Location
VA
I would recommend setting modulation to NFM rather than FM or Auto. I've had good results with Auto threshold, but the best setting varies from site to site. Activate the Func-Vol info screen while threshold is set to Auto, and watch the system to see what threshold value corresponds to the lowest decode error. Then set that value manually.
 

frazpo

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
1,427
Location
SW Mo
I would recommend setting modulation to NFM rather than FM or Auto. I've had good results with Auto threshold, but the best setting varies from site to site. Activate the Func-Vol info screen while threshold is set to Auto, and watch the system to see what threshold value corresponds to the lowest decode error. Then set that value manually.
It just showed 18 as the ERR value as it was receiving. I will mess with that. I am just puzzled as to why it seems like it isn't even receiving ANY signal when there is one. Nothing on the RF indicator.
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
13,465
Location
VA
ERR 18 is the decode error rate, not the threshold value.
 

frazpo

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
1,427
Location
SW Mo
ERR 18 is the decode error rate, not the threshold value.


Ok, yes I see what you mean. Been awhile since I’ve messed why that. Ended up at 13. It does seem to do better once I changed to FM. It’s a weird deal. This wasn’t a case of a few missed transmissions. The trx would be booming away while the 436 sat and scanned away. Then for no apparent reason it will start receiving. Like I said the n48 trunk is working fabulous on the 436. Something up with N96 conventional it seems.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
13,465
Location
VA
Were you using NFM modulation previously, or Auto?
 

vocoder

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
636
Location
Indiana
Frazpo, i am having the exact same problem on the exact same type nxdn system.
Squelch and modulation settings seem to affect the system decoding in different ways
Try different settings for those and let me know what you think
Strange, fm setting does seem to help some

My other nxdn systems work just fine
 

frazpo

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
1,427
Location
SW Mo
Frazpo, i am having the exact same problem on the exact same type nxdn system.
Squelch and modulation settings seem to affect the system decoding in different ways
Try different settings for those and let me know what you think
Strange, fm setting does seem to help some

My other nxdn systems work just fine


Thank goodness someone else is seeing this. Maybe Upman will chime in.
I have experimented quite a bit. In your situation will it have times it receives perfect and then for no apparent reason misses way more traffic then it should be??



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

vocoder

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
636
Location
Indiana
Yes
That is why your post caught my eye

When and what it decodes is good

It seems to ignore the other data, i believe it xmits gps coords of the mo units too
 
Last edited:

frazpo

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
1,427
Location
SW Mo
Yes

That is why your post caught my eye



When and what it decodes is good


Exactly! Not a decode problem at all. Sounds awesome, when it decides to receive it. Do you know what type of system this would be? Conventional but with frequencies that simulcast? Whatever it is the 436 doesn’t like it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Voyager

Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2002
Messages
12,064
Is it a NX96 system by chance?

I just came across a NX96 CB simulcastimg the exact same traffic
On another NX96 CB they both share the same RAN. There have been croup calls. Tg calls and encrptyed calls all on the same CB. The 436 demods the traffic just fine but is a most curious setup.
If you're seeing TGs on a conventional channel, program it as a OFT NXDN system.

It almost sounds like there is a OFT system and a conventional system on the same frequency.
 

vocoder

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
636
Location
Indiana
Cb 9600 vhf
Crazy thing is, they have 2 xmtr towers within 10 miles of each other

It works best set in digital mode, dont matter if i set ran or not
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top