Scantenna vs Antennacraft ST2

Status
Not open for further replies.

rafale01010

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
74
Location
Perry
Whats the difference? They both look like the same thing except that Scantenna is $20 more. Is it better to go with that or with the cheaper one?
 
Last edited:

hoser147

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
4,439
Location
Grand Lake St. Marys Ohio
The Scantenna ST2 is the replacement for the old Scantenna, so I believe and there is another post on it somewhere that they are one in the same............Hoser
 

rafale01010

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
74
Location
Perry
Thanks hoser, fortunately i saw the ebay one at a low price so i am definitely going with that to save me some money. But yet the upgrade is CHEAPER that doesnt make much sense....oh well
 

rafale01010

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
74
Location
Perry
Will do, event though it aint too windy out here, i will do it in the event we get hit with a series of cat.4 and cat.5 strength hurricanes after just mounting it.
 

stevolene

Member
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
173
Location
chattanooga metro
I cant hardly read the the diagram or the print on the wiki page for the scantenna reinforcement, also I believe they are using the fiberglass bicycle flag poles? if thats correct all the ones Ive found are solid
 

hoser147

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
4,439
Location
Grand Lake St. Marys Ohio
stevolene said:
I cant hardly read the the diagram or the print on the wiki page for the scantenna reinforcement, also I believe they are using the fiberglass bicycle flag poles? if thats correct all the ones Ive found are solid
That is correct. Nothing to it, a Bike flag and some electrical tape, cut the flag staff and tape it in place. Hoser
 

stevolene

Member
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
173
Location
chattanooga metro
ahh haa!!!! (lightbulb coming on) all this time I thought you guys were talking about hollow fiberglass poles and running the antenna through them............tell me something , If I get some aluminum mast, sink about 4 ft of it in the ground, brace it to the eave of the house, will I still need to run a ground wire down the mast into a copper rod in the ground? or would the mast actually be the ground? and if a ground is needed, where do you attach the ground wire at the antenna?
 

hoser147

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
4,439
Location
Grand Lake St. Marys Ohio
stevolene said:
ahh haa!!!! (lightbulb coming on) all this time I thought you guys were talking about hollow fiberglass poles and running the antenna through them............tell me something , If I get some aluminum mast, sink about 4 ft of it in the ground, brace it to the eave of the house, will I still need to run a ground wire down the mast into a copper rod in the ground? or would the mast actually be the ground? and if a ground is needed, where do you attach the ground wire at the antenna?
Stevolene there are inline coax type grounds from high dollar to cheaper ones. Right now there is an active thread on the subject in the antenna forum.............Hoser
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top