SDS100/SDS200: SDS 100 Programming/Use help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Code20Photog

Premium Subscriber
Haven't been able to find an answer anywhere.

Just picked up a SDS100 and beginning to program it similar to how I had my 396XT. I work as a news photographer so getting to things quick in the scanner is a must.

What I'm struggling with is finding a way to operate sub groups, within a system. For Example. I have Los Angeles County FD set up like this on my 396:

System 2 LACOFD
1 Countywide
2 West County
3 Central
4 Foothill
5 SCV/AV
6 Tacticals

You get the idea.

So when System 2 is on, I can turn on or off the sub groups as needed, so I don't have to listen to the whole county, but when something goes out in say Antelope Valley, I turn that group on. On my 396 I have most systems set up this way, with a priority group at 1, and/or geographical breakdowns of a department on individual groups, like LAPD or LA Sheriff. It seems like there should be a way to do this, I'm using the Sentinel software at the moment, but I've used Butel exclusively for my 396 and downloaded the demo for the 100. I know I could do it as 2, 21, 22, 23 in quick keys but I will run out of quick keys with the amount of stuff I have if I need to do it that way.

And while we're here, I'm also having trouble assigning quick keys to some systems. I have a priority system that just has dispatches from what we need to listen to most. I've assigned that QK 9 in Sentinel AND in the SDS100 itself and it won't turn on. Can you not mix service types? I have a System of just Kern County FD set as 12 and it won't work either, while I have other systems already set to numerous QKs that work fine. What am I doing wrong?

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Haven't been able to find an answer anywhere.

Just picked up a SDS100 and beginning to program it similar to how I had my 396XT. I work as a news photographer so getting to things quick in the scanner is a must.