BCD436HP/BCD536HP: Search and DMR

Status
Not open for further replies.

japostolik

Question about the DMR upgrade with regard to search feature:

When setting a custom search range if the scanner finds a DMR signal and stops on it - will it automatically decode the audio?

Any info appreciated

IAmSixNine

Feed Provider
I use my 436 to find new DMR frequencies.
When in custom search it will show the frequency, color code, talk group and slot number as well as show DMR if its conventional, CON for Connect Plus CAP for Capacity Plus. I believe it also shows DT3 or something similar for DMR tier 3 trunking. I have yet to see it on my scanner.
Also if it lands on a trunking system, it will also show site ID and Network info. SO its pretty handy to use.

Last edited:

japostolik

Dear IAmSixNine,

So the audio coming out of the speaker will be decoded and intelligible?

I'm new to DMR, knowing I'll have to learn all the finer points of DMR but just as a starter will be happy to "hear" what is being said when it lands on a DMR transmission using search.

Please let me know on that.
Thanks

IAmSixNine

Feed Provider
That is correct.
It still will not decode encypted traffic and some DMR systems may enable that feature.

racingfan360

So the audio coming out of the speaker will be decoded and intelligible?

To confirm, yes. As long as the original signal is not encrypted. You may get some broken decodes on DMR simplex or the on the uplink frequency of a repeater system, largely depending on received signal strength.

japostolik

Thanks!

Understand about encryption, just didn't know if the search mode would bring out some intelligible audio if what it finds isn't encrypted.

Good info - appreciated

dcisive

does it take rocket science to do a "Custom Search" to find available DMR frequencies? I'm strongly considering a 536 over a TRX-2 if it can be capable as I'd like to add the DMR because there are a number of them in my area.

Ubbe