• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

TK-2180 Programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

rustyjw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
110
I'm trying to program a TK-2180. When I try to read the radio I get an error message that says to check all connections and COM settings. The connections seem ok. I checked the COM port as best I could. The radio said PROGRAM on the display. I've used this cable several times without issue.


Any thoughts?
 

rustyjw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
110
Please check all connections and COM port settings

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 

kd4efm

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
1,623
Location
Florida
Sounds like it may be in a data mode, power off and as you power up, click read. The com port 0 will revert to normal for 2 to 4 seconds before it becomes an active data port. Let me know.

I do want to ask, you're using kpg-89?


Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
 

rustyjw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
110
Same response...yes, kpg89d

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 

kd4efm

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
1,623
Location
Florida
If you say your kpg36 cable is good on another radio, then I'm inclined to say open it up, water damage possible, or some form of corrosion on the inside.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
 

rustyjw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
110
I have 2 cables, and I received the same message with both cables

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2004
Messages
159
Location
Arizona
I have had them not make tight connections with the cable. Hold the cable tight against the radio, even with it screwed in. Then try to read the radio. Also the connector on the radio could be dirty. use a pencil eraser and go over the connector a few time to clean the contacts.
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
7,853
Location
NW Tenn
In device manager what are the port settings for this port? Also what type is the other radio that these cables work with?
 

rustyjw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
110
What should the port settings be? I've used the cable with other Kenwood portables, varying models.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
7,853
Location
NW Tenn
All of my new ones are baud rate 57600 data 8 bits parity NONE stop bits 1 flow control NONE
These setting work for my NX5300, my TK2180, my TK280, plus my TK780, my TK880, and my TK7180.
 

rustyjw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
110
I'll give that a shot.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 

rustyjw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
110
I've tried the posted suggestions and still getting the same error message. Is there a setting on the radio itself?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 

kd4efm

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
1,623
Location
Florida
Let's go back to the first post, when did you get this radio, new used, eBay, is it a passport radio, we need more info, if ebay, sorry, it's 89 % chance lemon or busted.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
 

rustyjw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
110
The radio is a colleague 's radio issues to him from his agency, so it was probably purchased from our local Kenwood vendor.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 

kd4efm

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
1,623
Location
Florida
Copy, needs to go in for repair. Just don't let in on you trying to program it, for his sake.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,673
Location
So Cali
The radio is a colleague 's radio issues to him from his agency, so it was probably purchased from our local Kenwood vendor.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
So, programming and other changes would be frowned upon. The "Agency" is the only one that should be 'programming' the radio.

And the radio may be locked so not just anyone can "program" it.
 

rustyjw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
110
So, programming and other changes would be frowned upon. The "Agency" is the only one that should be 'programming' the radio.

And the radio may be locked so not just anyone can "program" it.
I've done other radios that belong to this agency. I'm wondering if the radio vendor started locking the radios so they have to go back to him for programming, if that's possible.


Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 

kd4efm

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
1,623
Location
Florida
I think there's something else wrong, otherwise a prompt for password will kick up if it was read write protected.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top