• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

tk-290 problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

kurthr

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Messages
4
I have a tk-290 that I am trying to progarm. I have some frequencies that work correctly and some that just have a beep that happens randomly when I select the frequency. When I put the radio on scan all get is this random beeping. I know it is not the battery. Any help would be appreciated, I dont know if I need updated firmware or if it is a software programming problem if anyone has an updated version of either that would also help greatly.

Thanks,

Ryan K
 

code3cowboy

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
636
Location
CA
Sounds like the radio does not like some of your frequencies. Is it just a steady beep? How far out of your radio band split are they?
 

kurthr

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Messages
4
tk290 problems

its not a steady beep just a quick beep that happens randomly, the frequencies are like 154.25 and 154.8750 and 154.4000 and 155.2650. Like I said I dont know if it is the firmware or the version of programming but any help would be appreciated
 

CCEMS703

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
219
Location
kentucky
i had some guys i know with this radio have the same prob only when it was on scan it would beep every once in a while... i just went into the software and unchecked the warning alert thats in the options and it seemed to take care of the beep how ever i never figured out why it caused it to beep
 

timkilbride

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
1,808
Location
Iowa County, Iowa
Mine beeps every once in a while too. I think it may have something to do with the battery level, but I'm not 100% sure. I do have the low battery alert disabled. When it gets low, it will only TX for a couple seconds and not allow you to TX until you un-key then key again. Mine will go for awhile with a low battery so I keep it disabled.

Tim
 

madmedic

Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
40
If you program a frequency out of band range, it will take it, however, once programmed and when you attempt to listen for traffic on that channel, it will beep and remind you that the radio is not able to receive regardless whether it took your programming.
For example: You have a TK290, lets say 140mhz up to 170 mhz
If you try to put an aircraft rx frequency of 118something mhz, the radio will take it when you program it, but wont receive anything on it and beep when you select that channel.
 

djgrooven

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2009
Messages
100
Location
Barstow, California
Question? Is the 290 that you have an early model radio? s/n that starts below 5110****. I have noticed on radios that I have programed with 50****** #'s they always will make that beep while scanning. So i think that it might be the firmware on the older 290's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top