Uniden SDS Scanner Mac Software Research

Hi All,

I've worked on a simple Mac OS software that allows me to read in my favorites list, easily rename them, edit the departments/frequencies etc... from my SDS100. But it should work on the 200 too.

I keep seeing that everyone on Mac is busy installing Windows Mirror and then installing the available Sentinal software. That's a huge hassle, and I'm a tech guy and I still find that hard to figure out!

So, I'm asking, if I were to release my software for Mac users, anyone here would be interested in trying it out?
I've kept it very simple, but, what features would you deem necessary for you to want to use it over installing Windows mirror?
Full disclosure, it takes time to build, so I will probably put a price tag on it eventually, but I'd love to gauge interest!

Thanks!

buddrousa

Premium Subscriber
Just a point you may not have thought of.
1. Will it be supported on several versions of the OS?
2. Will it be supported on several different browers?
These are a few things to think about because you will be flooded with complaints and request.
But it does sound like a good idea as long as you have the time to support it.

weyforthr

I am interested in what you are pursuing.

My SDS200 is programmed via a Windows 7 laptop with either Proscan (great) or Sentinel (ok). I could do the same thing from macOS using Parallels/Windows, but right now I prefer to use the laptop for non-critical applications. It would be nice to ditch Windows entirely, but I know that is not likely.

There are many things to consider. but don't let that stop you.

N9JIG

Sheriff
"bearcatrp raises a good point, while all new Macs are M-Series Apple Silicon, older ones with Intel chips are still plentiful so there will be a need to support both.

If you plan on supporting the SDS series consider making it work on the 436 and 536 as they all use the same Sentinel version. For that reason whatever you do for one should work on the others.