Using Unitrunker with P25

Chevyman22360

Member
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
111
Just started using Unitrunker again after a few years. I am currently monitoring the (South Dakota State Radio System) South Dakota State Radio System Trunking System, Statewide, South Dakota - Scanner Frequencies
I have everything setup in unitrunker and the site comes up. I monitor the Summit control channel (158.640) as my park channel. When the screen pops up all the frequencies are in the 850-80 mhz. And I also get a constant call of 34816 that just keeps coming through that makes hard to monitor other traffic. Again I just started using it again. Maybe I am missing something. is there something different, better than unitrunker? Thanks
 

Attachments

mattwillson

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 18, 2019
Messages
21
I would try parking on the frequency in red, hard to see... 864.3125 I think? It looks like your setup is incomplete, you digital output isn't being sent through a virtual cable to DSD for decoding. I think you would only need 2 VCOs, signal and voice. Double click on 34816 and change priority to 99. Unitrunker was the first program I attempted (started in June) so I have stuck with it. SDR-trunk seems like a decent software alternative. Feel free to DM me for any assistance with getting Unitrunker going.
 

GTR8000

NYS Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
9,314
Location
BEE00
I'm wondering if you entered the proper band plan into Unitrunker.
That is 100% the issue. South Dakota's system is VHF, and every frequency shown in his screenshot is 800 MHz. Unitrunker band plan defaults to 800 MHz on SmartZone systems, so it has to be manually edited to match the VHF system.
 

boatbod

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
2,411
Location
Talbot Co, MD
Recommend you switch over to one of the more commonly used P25 apps such as DSD+FL or SDRTrunk. P25 systems broadcast sufficient info on their control channel that you should not need to enter anything about a band plan once you have the control channel being received ok.
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
4,780
Location
Annapolis
Recommend you switch over to one of the more commonly used P25 apps such as DSD+FL or SDRTrunk. P25 systems broadcast sufficient info on their control channel that you should not need to enter anything about a band plan once you have the control channel being received ok.
The South Dakota system is listed as a SmartZone system, with P25 CAI / audio. DSD+FL and SDRTrunk will not decode the proprietary SmartZone control channel.
 

boatbod

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
2,411
Location
Talbot Co, MD
The South Dakota system is listed as a SmartZone system, with P25 CAI / audio. DSD+FL and SDRTrunk will not decode the proprietary SmartZone control channel.
Ah, in that case nevermind! I was going from the thread title...
Smartzone will definitely require a band plan
 
Top