Winstar?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fasteddy64

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
440
Location
Abilene, TX
I just did the DMR upgrade to my Uniden 436
Can I monitor the system at Winstar?
Do I need to program it manually or does the database support it if I just program via Zip code?

Thanks,
Ed
KG5UN
 

twjr80

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
174
Location
Farmersville, Texas
Yes, with the DMR upgrade, you'll be able to monitor the WinStar Casino radio system. Also, the radio system is in the national database, therefore, it will be on the supplied sd card that is in the scanner. If it is not, you can use the Uniden Sentinel software to update the database on the sd card.
 

fasteddy64

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
440
Location
Abilene, TX
Yes, with the DMR upgrade, you'll be able to monitor the WinStar Casino radio system. Also, the radio system is in the national database, therefore, it will be on the supplied sd card that is in the scanner. If it is not, you can use the Uniden Sentinel software to update the database on the sd card.
Thanks for the info.
I know it probably isnt very exciting listening but its something to do while the bride is gambling!
73,
Ed
KG5UN
 

Ensnared

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
3,180
Location
Waco, Texas
Winstar Accuracy

Since I don't know how to program DMR yet, I attempted to listen to this system before the latest changes were noted. I wrote someone who, I think, submitted the system frequencies, etc.; however, I don't think there were any talk groups yet. I believe he stated he was using a Whistler. When I attempted to monitor the original configuration of things, I did not hear a peep, even while standing next to someone keying the mike.

So, I've not been up there to try the new frequencies out. Hopefully, this information will have the correct ordering of frequencies. I understand that Whistler radios don't have to have the correct order of frequencies.

I am using a 436HP.
 

fasteddy64

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
440
Location
Abilene, TX
I will give it a listen the next couple of days and report back.
I will be using my 436 and will just try monitoring the database.
If that doesn't work I will attempt to create a favorites list.
Ed
 

fasteddy64

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
440
Location
Abilene, TX
Ok, so here is what i have found so far.
Monitoring the database I hear nothing.
Using closecall I started hearing a few things.
Using discovery I hear a lot.
I created a quick favorites list, turned on ID searching and it is non-stop traffic.
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
7,544
Location
Dallas, TX
Ok, so here is what i have found so far.
Monitoring the database I hear nothing.
Using closecall I started hearing a few things.
Using discovery I hear a lot.
I created a quick favorites list, turned on ID searching and it is non-stop traffic.
Ed,
Have you tried to run the LCN finder on it?
 

fasteddy64

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
440
Location
Abilene, TX
Very perplexing.
Today nothing.
Ran LCN Finder for an hour. Nothing.
Ran discovery for 2 hours. Nothing
Scanned the favorites list I made, scanned the database and ran close call. Nothing.
 

fasteddy64

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
440
Location
Abilene, TX
Woke up this morning and it is working fine again.
I have no idea why it worked one day, didn't work the next and then worked the third day.
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
7,544
Location
Dallas, TX
Woke up this morning and it is working fine again.
I have no idea why it worked one day, didn't work the next and then worked the third day.
Ed,
You indicated previously that the LCN Finder only identified 7 of the ten frequencies.

On the seven that it found, were they in sequence- 1-2-3-4-5-6-7?
Or skipping some- 1-2-4-5-7-8-10?

I've been working on several DMR trunked systems that are not in the database yet. The users previously were on LTR, but converted to DMR. For one, Children's Medical here in Dallas, there are five frequencies on their license. But all I've ever seen are LCN's 1 & 2. In fact, monitoring the other channels conventionally, I've never seen any associated traffic on them. Some activity, yes, but a different user and different color code. So, either the other three frequencies on the license are not rolled into the DMR system, or else there has never been enough activity (when I've had a scanner parked on the system) to utilize additional LCN's.

Tentatively, a friend and I are planning a trip up there in about two weeks, but we might not stay overnight, so my chance to look at the system will be limited.
 

fasteddy64

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
440
Location
Abilene, TX
Ed,
You indicated previously that the LCN Finder only identified 7 of the ten frequencies.

On the seven that it found, were they in sequence- 1-2-3-4-5-6-7?
Or skipping some- 1-2-4-5-7-8-10?

I've been working on several DMR trunked systems that are not in the database yet. The users previously were on LTR, but converted to DMR. For one, Children's Medical here in Dallas, there are five frequencies on their license. But all I've ever seen are LCN's 1 & 2. In fact, monitoring the other channels conventionally, I've never seen any associated traffic on them. Some activity, yes, but a different user and different color code. So, either the other three frequencies on the license are not rolled into the DMR system, or else there has never been enough activity (when I've had a scanner parked on the system) to utilize additional LCN's.

Tentatively, a friend and I are planning a trip up there in about two weeks, but we might not stay overnight, so my chance to look at the system will be limited.
Steve,
Honestly I didn't check the results (I'm new to this stuff). I did run it again this morning and got to 8 of 10 before it stopped.
I will say this is an extremely busy system with traffic almost non stop.
Ed
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
7,544
Location
Dallas, TX
Steve,
Honestly I didn't check the results (I'm new to this stuff). I did run it again this morning and got to 8 of 10 before it stopped.
I will say this is an extremely busy system with traffic almost non stop.
Ed
Thanks Ed

If/when you have a chance, please post or PM me the LCN's that were identified. I'll program one of my scanners for it if we do make it up there in the next couple of weeks.

I might also take my TRX-1, and let it record activity. Then I could go back & review the recordings in EZ-Scan to try and confirm which TGID is used for what.
 

Ensnared

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
3,180
Location
Waco, Texas
Whistler Submission?

I cannot recall when, but I thought I corresponded with someone who was monitoring the system using a Whistler TRX1 or TRX2. I think this was the person who submitted the information. From what I understand, the these radios don't have to have a particular order of frequencies. So, hence, I heard nothing up there.

DMR is a steep curve for me to climb.
 

fasteddy64

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
440
Location
Abilene, TX
Thanks Ed

If/when you have a chance, please post or PM me the LCN's that were identified. I'll program one of my scanners for it if we do make it up there in the next couple of weeks.

I might also take my TRX-1, and let it record activity. Then I could go back & review the recordings in EZ-Scan to try and confirm which TGID is used for what.
I'm sorry but I don't know how to go back and retrieve that info.
Ed
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
7,544
Location
Dallas, TX
I'm sorry but I don't know how to go back and retrieve that info.
Ed
If you are in the LCN Finder, then when you get ready to exit, you hit <FUNC>+<SYSTEM> to exit. You'll get a prompt to save what has been found. Select yes to save.

Past that, to see the LCN's found, the easiest way, of course, is to read the information from the scanner back into Sentinel or other software.

But, on the scanner itself, you can still get to it:
Press Menu
Scroll to Manage Favorites & select (press E-enter)
Scroll to the Favorites list that contains the system & press E
Select Review/Edit System & press E again
Scroll to the system & press E to select
Scroll to and select Edit Site
Scroll to and select the site name (if it is only one site, you'll see two choices, "New Site", and the actual named site in the scanner)
Note correction in Bold
Scroll to and select Set Frequencies
Scroll to the first frequency & press E to select
Scroll to Edit Frequency & select
At the Edit Frequency screen, just press "E" as you are not changing the entry
That will get you to the screen where you can either enter the LCN, or see what LCN Finder entered during the Analyze.

Just note what LCN number is shown, then press E to move on without changing it
Back at the list of Site Frequencies, scroll to the next frequency & repeat the above to see what was entered. If the LCN Finder did noot calculate an LCN for a given frequency, the value shown during the 'Frequency Edit' should be a zero.
Repeat the process above until you've gone through all of the frequencies for the site.
 
Last edited:

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
7,544
Location
Dallas, TX
I cannot recall when, but I thought I corresponded with someone who was monitoring the system using a Whistler TRX1 or TRX2. I think this was the person who submitted the information. From what I understand, the these radios don't have to have a particular order of frequencies. So, hence, I heard nothing up there.

DMR is a steep curve for me to climb.
Right; the TRX-1 & TRX-2, and the other DMR capable Whistler scanners, do not use the LCN information to monitor the system. Instead, they just receive the activity received, and use the talkgroup ID's, You can program only the ID's you want, and they'll ignore the rest of the transmissions, or use a wildcard to hear everything.

For a system that I am trying to figure out, I'll let the TRX-1 record everything it hears, then use EZ-Scan to review the recordings. I can re-sort them by TGID, then select a range of them, for a given talkgroup, and play back those recordings in sequence, which helps to establish the use of the TGID.
 

fasteddy64

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
440
Location
Abilene, TX
If you are in the LCN Finder, then when you get ready to exit, you hit <FUNC>+<SYSTEM> to exit. You'll get a prompt to save what has been found. Select yes to save.

Past that, to see the LCN's found, the easiest way, of course, is to read the information from the scanner back into Sentinel or other software.

But, on the scanner itself, you can still get to it:
Press Menu
Scroll to Manage Favorites & select (press E-enter)
Scroll to the Favorites list that contains the system & press E
Select Review/Edit System & press E again
Scroll to the system & press E to select
Scroll to and select Edit Site
Scroll to and select the site name (if it is only one site, you'll see two choices, "New Site", and the actual named site in the scanner)
Scroll to and select Edit Frequencies
Scroll to the first frequency & press E to select
At the Edit Frequency screen, just press "E" as you are not changing the entry
That will get you to the screen where you can either enter the LCN, or see what LCN Finder entered during the Analyze.
Just note what LCN number is shown, then press E to move on without changing it
Back at the list of Site Frequencies, scroll to the next frequency & repeat the above to see what was entered. If the LCN Finder did noot calculate an LCN for a given frequency, the value shown during the 'Frequency Edit' should be a zero.
Repeat the process above until you've gone through all of the frequencies for the site.
Tried it but I must be doing something wrong. I don't get "Edit Frequencies" as an option, the closest I see is set frequencies, that just shows the 10 I entered when I set it up.
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
7,544
Location
Dallas, TX
Tried it but I must be doing something wrong. I don't get "Edit Frequencies" as an option, the closest I see is set frequencies, that just shows the 10 I entered when I set it up.
I made a slight correction:

Note correction in Bold
Scroll to and select Set Frequencies
Scroll to the first frequency & press E to select
Scroll to Edit Frequency & select
At the Edit Frequency screen, just press "E" as you are not changing the entry
That will get you to the screen where you can either enter the LCN, or see what LCN Finder entered during the Analyze.
 

fasteddy64

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
440
Location
Abilene, TX
I made a slight correction:

Note correction in Bold
Scroll to and select Set Frequencies
Scroll to the first frequency & press E to select
Scroll to Edit Frequency & select
At the Edit Frequency screen, just press "E" as you are not changing the entry
That will get you to the screen where you can either enter the LCN, or see what LCN Finder entered during the Analyze.
Sorry but that still doesn't work.
All I see is the 10 frequencies I entered when I made the list.
When I select them it just shows the number they have been entered, 1 through 10.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top