Any scanner software for Apple OS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zaratsu

Premium Subscriber
Probably a really dumb questions, but it may be a good suggestion to anyone making software out there. Is there any software to make a scanner work with an Apple OS?

I've been using an Apple notebook for my personal PC for about 6 months now, and I can tell you for my needs (97% just web browsing) it is all that I ever wanted. That being said, i'm not going back to PC no matter how much they glitz-up or strip-down Vista. I have a Dell notebook for work but would not use that to play with anything not work-related. I just got my wife a new Lenovo stuffed to the gills (so she can play on Pogo.com:roll:), but thats hers and she will flip if she starts seing radios wired into it.

I'm guessing that anything Apple compatible would be fairly new knowing that PC control of scanners has traditionally been accross the reliable legacy Serial RS-232 connections.

I suppose you can run windows on a Mac now, but again the Serial RS-232 port is still an issue even with an adaptor. My Apple is a G4 powered unit, so it does not have the ability to support Windows directly. (only the new intel apples do this I think) I will be buying a new one in about 6 months but not entertaining putting windows on it.

I am not so much looking for something to control my current scanners, but maybe something to control future scanners that I have not bought yet such as a digital unit like the 996/396 or whatever that new RS/GRE one is with 36,000 channels.

Maybe the answer is in one that has a direct web interface and can be controled via IP?:D (hint, hint, thats an idea that either Uniden, GRE, ICOM, or YAESU can take to the bank) I'll reserve my royalties on the term SoIP, or Scan over IP.:cool: