Beginner CW HF transceiver

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdenfuny

Premium Subscriber
Hello. I have my technician license and I am studying for my general license. I am thinking about getting an HF radio (within the next couple of months). I have also been learning CW and I can do most of the characters. Because of this I would be interested in an radio that would work with CW for transmitting (and receiving). The ICOM 718 is within my budget, but I am not sure if one can use this for CW.

What is a good radio for this in the price range of an ICOM 718?

ko6jw_2

Premium Subscriber
You might want to order an optional CW filter at some point. It will make operating in crowded band conditions easier. Icon offers CW and SSB filters for this radio.

The radio is HF only. You might want to look at HF + 6 meter radios, but this radio has the basic features you will need.

tdenfuny

Premium Subscriber
Ah. So the Icom 718 will work with with a CW paddle? Where is this connected to the radio?

@ko6jw_2: Any suggestions on radios to consider that also do 6m?

Zhaldorian

Premium Subscriber
According to the manual:

ELECTRONIC KEYER JACK [KEY] (plug number 7 on the back panel)
Accepts a paddle to activate the internal electronic
keyer.
•Selection between the internal electronic keyer and
straight key operation can be made in initial set mode.

K7MEM

Hello. I have my technician license and I am studying for my general license. I am thinking about getting an HF radio (within the next couple of months). I have also been learning CW and I can do most of the characters. Because of this I would be interested in an radio that would work with CW for transmitting (and receiving). The ICOM 718 is within my budget, but I am not sure if one can use this for CW.

What is a good radio for this in the price range of an ICOM 718?