rjvalenta

Premium Subscriber
i'm new to HF... and as i posted in a different thread i'm considering an MFJ Octopus, which is effectively a fan dipole.

i have to choose 4 dipoles made of hamsticks to put in this - which will connect to my tuner.

i was watching one of Dave Casler's videos (the man has taught me so much), and he made a comment about 15m being a harmonic of 40m...

i started to think about that... 7mhz at 40... 21mhz at 15...

wait... 7Mhz for 40m, 14Mhz for 20m, 21Mhz for 15m, 28Mhz for 10m... aren't they all harmonics of each other?

no wait, 5Mhz for 60m, 10Mhz for 30m

and then 24Mhz for 12m, 50Mhz for 6m...

with a tuner - a 75m hamstick dipole would be able to get on 80/75... then with a 20m hamstick dipole i would also be able to work 40m, 15m, and 10m... then with a 30m hamstick dipole i would also 60m, and finally a 17m dipole would also get me on 6m?

so the perfect mix (with a tuner) to get the most band would (at least in theory) be 75/30/20/17

am i understanding harmonics properly?

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
The original amateur radio HF bands are kinda, sorta harmonically related. The WARC bands (30m, 17m, 12m) not so much.

3.5-4.0 MHz is 2nd harmonic of 1.8-2.0 MHz.
7.0-7.3 MHz is 2nd harmonic of 3.5-4.0 MHz.
14.0-14.35 MHz is 2nd harmonic of 7.0-7.3 MHz.
21.0-21.45 MHz is 3rd harmonic of 7.0-7.3 MHz.
28.0-29.7 MHz is 2nd harmonic of 14.0-14.35 MHz.

The relationships are not exact, but close enough for building dipole antennas back in the days before everyone had an SWR meter or antenna analyzer or VNA.

rjvalenta

Premium Subscriber
ok - but i guess my question is: can you use an antenna resonant on one band for it's harmonic bands?

like i hear about a resonant antenna, and then a 1/2 wave or a 1/4 wave antenna... so... a 20m resonant dipole would be a 1/2 wave dipole for 40m and a 1/4 wave dipole for 80m... and... double wave for 10m?

does it work like that?