• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

G4 random lockup

Status
Not open for further replies.

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,971
Location
Southeastern Michigan
My G4 is, randomly, locking up. The screen is blanked, no buttons work, no volume control indication, and turning off the power does not restore function. I have to pull the battery to restore functionality.

It happened twice, in the first 24 hours I had it programmed, and randomly, since.

The only possible pattern has been that it seems more common, when resting on the belt clip.

Sent via Tapatalk
 

IAmSixNine

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,675
Location
Dallas, TX
Have not had that happen on my G4.
I would try to use the firmware updater and re-do your pagers software. Then read the unit and program it back.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,971
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Have not had that happen on my G4.
I would try to use the firmware updater and re-do your pagers software. Then read the unit and program it back.
I updated the firmware as soon as I received it, before programming. Of course, something could have been corrupted.

Sent via Tapatalk
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,971
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Redo the firmware then read the unit, write back to it with programming software and test.
Still locking up, a little less often. Now, I also get a different type of halt, which does clear with power cycling.

With the lock up, two of the LEDs flash, at some undetermined interval. With the halt, all three LEDs light up orange.

Sent via Tapatalk
 

N9JIG

Sheriff
Moderator
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
4,056
Location
Far NW Valley
I seem to recall reading of an issue with the battery door on certain Unication radios, I think Unication has a fix for that involving a replacement battery door. Apparently the screws were too long or something...

Check with Unication Support or Unication David.
 
Last edited:

Signal-Zero

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
3,179
Location
Fortified Bunker
They sent me a new battery door and what looked like shorter screws and less felt like material in the inside of the door when I had the audio issue. That fixed my problem. I don't know if that relates to the locking up issue you are having but if components are being stressed because of over tightness it may not hurt to try.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,971
Location
Southeastern Michigan
I seem to recall reading of an issue with the battery door on certain Unication radios, I think Unication has a fix for that involving a replacement battery door. Apparently the screws were too long or something...

Check with Unication Support or Unication David.
Our units have the modified battery cover.

Sent via Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top