Homebrew Remotehead for DMA Uniden

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ4ODU

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
49
Location
Carrollton GA
I know its need 3 mouths and no post. but when I go to right the last file posted for the 4x20 screen I get a Error?

Code:
 HomebrewRemoteforUniden_v2c.cpp: In function 'void loop()':
HomebrewRemoteforUniden_v11.pde:-1: error: no match for 'operator=' in 'systemName = systemName.String::trim()'
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:83: note: candidates are: String& String::operator=(const String&)
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:84: note:                 String& String::operator=(const char*)
HomebrewRemoteforUniden_v11.pde:-1: error: no match for 'operator=' in 'freqNumber = freqNumber.String::trim()'
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:83: note: candidates are: String& String::operator=(const String&)
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:84: note:                 String& String::operator=(const char*)
HomebrewRemoteforUniden_v11.pde:-1: error: no match for 'operator=' in 'systemName = systemName.String::trim()'
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:83: note: candidates are: String& String::operator=(const String&)
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:84: note:                 String& String::operator=(const char*)
HomebrewRemoteforUniden_v11.pde:-1: error: no match for 'operator=' in 'groupName = groupName.String::trim()'
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:83: note: candidates are: String& String::operator=(const String&)
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:84: note:                 String& String::operator=(const char*)
HomebrewRemoteforUniden_v11.pde:-1: error: no match for 'operator=' in 'channelName = channelName.String::trim()'
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:83: note: candidates are: String& String::operator=(const String&)
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:84: note:                 String& String::operator=(const char*)
 

richk107

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
90
Location
New Jersey
KJ4ODU - It looks like you used version 1 of the Arduino compiler. I used version 0022. If you can, try the older version and compile again. There are a number of changes in version 1.0 that break a lot of old programs.

Rich
 

KJ4ODU

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
49
Location
Carrollton GA
Never Mind I went back and read and over looked change 12 to 15! now it working


Ok got it running, I do see something I think is wrong. when I add power to the remote unit.. it says on

Version 2.0
by Richard Kot

and will not refresh the screen until the scanner stops on a freq/ and when sound is made. then it shows what the scanner is showing.

but I would like it to refresh and show what the scanner is showing in real time.

is there a way to do that.

my scanner is the 396xt
 
Last edited:

KJ4ODU

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
49
Location
Carrollton GA
ok, like when I hit hold on scanner ( not Using the buttons on the remote head) it shows

Holding
Carroll


and that is it. but when the scanner makes a sound them it will show on the remote head?

Holding
Carroll
853.1000MHz
853.1000

.

is there away I could add it to see all 4 lines on the scanner.

I'm thinking even the code was redone for the 20x4 screen, not all is there...

and in scanning mode. it shows

Scanning
Carroll

and on scanner it shows

Scanning
Carroll
ID SEARCH
852.8625


Thanks
 

richk107

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
90
Location
New Jersey
Anyone up to try a version that compiles under Arduino 1.0? I've been meaning to update this to run under Arduino 1.0 for a while, now is good as any. I can't promise this will work right away since I did the update on my train ride home from Washington DC. The changes weren't drastic but needed since there were library changes. Since it does compile I don't anticipaten any issues.


Rich
 

Attachments

  • HomebrewRemoteforUniden_v2_2.zip
    4 KB · Views: 131
Last edited:

KJ4ODU

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
49
Location
Carrollton GA
I loaded it to the Unit. it shows scanning but has

GLG,,,

on the 2nd line at the end...



also when it stops scanning, the remote unit goes crazy, and Start rebooting


it will show

Carroll
Carrollton
852.****MHz
852.****

then Reboot.

Loop.





Also Might be a long shot.

is there a way to write the code to where it shows what ever on the Scanner Screen

even if I'm in the menu, etc. and leave all the extra out. like the button controls.




Anyone up to try a version that compiles under Arduino 1.0? I've been meaning to update this to run under Arduino 1.0 for a while, now is good as any. I can't promise this will work right away since I did the update on my train ride home from Washington DC. The changes weren't drastic but needed since there were library changes. Since it does compile I don't anticipaten any issues.


Rich
 

richk107

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
90
Location
New Jersey
KJ4ODU - What baud rate do you have your scanner set to?

I took a quick look at the code at work and it looks like I left in the incorrect baud rate. When I was writing this i played with different baud rates to see which would work. If I remember correctly, baud rates below 38400 didn't act correctly. They dropped characters and would not display in time what was on the actual scanner's display. What does work (because its what I use) is a baud rate of 115200.

To fix the mistake in my code -

Look starting at line number 107, which reads:
//Serial.begin(115200);
Serial.begin(9600);

This should be:
Serial.begin(115200);
//Serial.begin(9600);

Or, better yet, just remove the entire Serial.begin(9600); line and uncomment the line with 115200. Its not needed anyway.

So, you will now need to check to see what your scanner's baud rate is set to. Set it to the same 115200 speed and try again.

I'll add a note to the comments section that explains this a little better.

Rich
 

richk107

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
90
Location
New Jersey
KJ4ODU - You don't need to have the control buttons connected to the Arduino. If you leave them out, the screen works fine.

Rich
 

KJ4ODU

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
49
Location
Carrollton GA
yes I know about the buttons not connected and the screen working without..

'
I did remote the // for 115200 and add it to the other one.


scanner is a 396xt.
 

richk107

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
90
Location
New Jersey
Apparently I grabbed the wrong version to work on during my trip. The code is the same as the previous release with but with the addition of some unneeded code and some lines that shouldn't be commented out. I'm testing another version now and should hopefully have it out tonight.
 

richk107

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
90
Location
New Jersey
Here is the updated version. Please let me know if there is anything I missed.


Rich
 

Attachments

  • HomebrewRemoteforUniden_v2_3.zip
    4 KB · Views: 135

richk107

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
90
Location
New Jersey
Quick fix -

In the CheckHold funtion there are five lines that need to be commented out or just deleted. Four look like Serial.println(c, HEX); and the last one looks like Serial.println("0");

I used these for debugging to verify I had read a HOLD code from the scanner.

So, it could look like this:

=================================================================
int checkHold(void) {
String tempString;
byte c;

Serial.flush();
Serial.println("STS"); // Uniden command to "Get Current Status"
readline();
scannerInput = "";
scannerInput = String(buffer);
testString = scannerInput.substring(0,3);
if (testString== "STS") { // check to see if returned string is formated correctly. starts with STS.
tempString = scannerInput.substring(12,13);
c = tempString.charAt(0);
// Serial.println(c, HEX);
if (c == HOLD1) { // Begin checking to see if scanner is in hold status.
tempString = scannerInput.substring(13,14); // begin checking character by character.
c = tempString.charAt(0); // Yes, this is ugly but it works.
// Serial.println(c, HEX);
if (c == HOLD2) {
tempString = scannerInput.substring(14,15);
c = tempString.charAt(0);
// Serial.println(c, HEX);
if (c == HOLD3) {
tempString = scannerInput.substring(15,16);
c = tempString.charAt(0);
// Serial.println(c, HEX);
if (c == HOLD4) {
// Serial.println("0");
return 0; // Yup, the scanner is holding on some frequency.
}
}
}
}
}
return 1; // Nope, the scanner is scanning frequencies.
}

=================================================================

Rich
 

dimab

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
500
Location
CT
is anyone selling these? Or are there build plans for a unit? would be great to have a guide from start to finish
 
Last edited:

praxidike

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
103
After having the parts for two months I finally got off my lazy butt and put it all together. It's ugly as hell, but it works great on the 996T.

Awesome! I've been following this thread for awhile and been looking into doing my own. Can you tell me what LCD are you using? Good job everyone who has been working on this project!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top