• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Ignition Relay

Status
Not open for further replies.

adko701

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
42
Location
Whitehall Wisconsin
I need a relay for my radio equipment. This is how it has to work...I turn on my key, all my equipment comes on. I have one spot on my fuse box for the relay trigger. I have 3 items I need to turn on...A Motorola CDM1250, Uniden BCT15, and a GPS. Any ideas?
 

ffemt601

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
159
Location
MS
Its called a Relay and you can buy them at an auto parts store for around 5 bucks. You buy them based on the amp rating needed for your gear.

Personally I use EVModules - Products so that I have a delay that my gear stays on after I turn off my vehicle.
 

WD4JKH

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2006
Messages
72
Location
Peach State
I need a relay for my radio equipment. This is how it has to work...I turn on my key, all my equipment comes on. I have one spot on my fuse box for the relay trigger. I have 3 items I need to turn on...A Motorola CDM1250, Uniden BCT15, and a GPS. Any ideas?
If you run the main power lead from the CDM through the relay you will be having to punch your power button on the radio every time you turn the ignition on. The way a CDM is normally done is connect the CDM's power lead to battery hot and use the ignition sense in pin #10 of the accessory connector. Another way is to run the power lead AND the ignition sense through the relay. That works also if you want to make sure you have zero drain through the battery when the ignition is off or if everything is run through a battery disconnect switch.
 

WD4JKH

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2006
Messages
72
Location
Peach State
CDM's have to have pin 10 ignition sense enabled in the CPS
It seems like all the new ones I have seen lately have ignition sense enabled as the default setting.
The handy part about using it this way is you can still power on the radio with its on-off switch with the ignition switch off.
 

RolnCode3

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
2,253
Location
Sacramento/Bay Area, CA
Its called a Relay and you can buy them at an auto parts store for around 5 bucks. You buy them based on the amp rating needed for your gear.

Personally I use EVModules - Products so that I have a delay that my gear stays on after I turn off my vehicle.
Sean is a genius. This was the exact item I thought of when I saw the thread. Hook that to a BlueSea fuse block and you're golden.
 

adko701

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
42
Location
Whitehall Wisconsin
Well, radio install almost a success. I purchased 2 relays..this one to be exact (http://www.justanswer.com/uploads/st...4305_relay.gif)..and it works perfectly. I also ordered a ignition sense kit for my Motorola CDM1250, although I hooked the positive lead from the radio to the positive side on my relay and it works perfect, also the ground to ground. Is this way wrong? Is it alright to hook two relays up to one ignition source at 10AMPS? Can I hook the wires together to turn the relays on at the same time?

Thanks!
Happy Holidays
 

FFPM571

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
1,113
Location
Chicago area
10 amps is alot. All a relay needs to work is about 100ma to tell it to work. Yes you can run 2 relays off the same igntion source
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top