Is BCD325P2 a good purchase?

kickflip

Hi,
First time here and new to DMR and trunked systems.
I'm trying to listen to a trunked cap+ single site system with about 6 TGs. Will the Uniden BCD325P2 scanner trunk trace? My initial route was to purchase a Mototrbo radio (prob xpr3500e) to monitor this and other similar systems and then someone on reddit suggested to get a scanner. I'm very new to all of this so I just wanted to make sure I am on the right track with this scanner. Thanks!

(also if it does work how would i go about programing it)

jtwalker

Premium Subscriber
Yes a 325 will trunk track a DMR tier III system. You need to purchase the DMR upgrade key to receive DMR on the 325.

Would probably be good to list the specific system you are talking about so someone can give you more detailed info about it. Could be encrypted or have some other issue.

Always best to use software (I suggest ProScan) to program a scanner and a Radio Reference premium help to allow you to just import data from RR instead of typing it in by hand.

Last edited:

kickflip

Yes a 325 will trunk track a DMR tier III system. You need to purchase the DMR upgrade key to receive DMR on the 325.

Would probably be good to list the specific system you are talking about so someone can give you more detailed info about it. Could be encrypted or have some other issue.

Always best to use software (I suggest ProScan) to program a scanner and a Radio Reference premium help to allow you to just import data from RR instead of typing it in by hand.
This is the system I’m trying to monitor. Thanks for the info.

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner, RRDB & Google-fu ninja 4 hire
Premium Subscriber