Pro-106 DC hum when plugged into pc

Status
Not open for further replies.

KC9WWJ

Member
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
20
Location
New Palestine, IN
I was just wondering what methods people use to eliminate the ground loop/hum issue when your scanner is plugged into your PC? I am interested in becoming a stream provider, but cant get past this issue... Ive tried a ground loop isolator, but am now out of ideas... any helpful hints/tips???
 
Last edited:

KC9WWJ

Member
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
20
Location
New Palestine, IN
yes it still does it on battery only, and this is the second computer ive tried it on, and a different power supply. (before i was using one of those rat shack enercell adapters) I bought the actual adapter for it, didnt eliminate it, bought the ground loop isolator, didnt eliminate it.. :/
 

kenabos

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 12, 2011
Messages
23
I was just wondering what methods people use to eliminate the ground loop/hum issue when your scanner is plugged into your PC? I am interested in becoming a stream provider, but cant get past this issue... Ive tried a ground loop isolator, but am now out of ideas... any helpful hints/tips???
I know you said you have tried 2 pc's now but I still have to question your computer or cable.
I dont provide a feed but my pro106 connected to my computer is dead silent when not receiving.
This is a feed provider with listening to the same thing I do and he is also using a 106
Butler County Area Sheriff, Police, EMS, and EMA Live Scanner Audio Feed
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
2,479
Location
CT
I was just wondering what methods people use to eliminate the ground loop/hum issue when your scanner is plugged into your PC??
Jarhead,
I don’t run a feed here, but allow me to make some suggestions.

1st, being in the telephone business, when a customer asks me, “Why is it humming?”, I tell them that it’s simply because it doesn’t know the words. Now, on to your own hum.

Are you going from scanner to “Line In” – not MIC on the sound card?

Try another audio source, like an IPod or other isolated audio device.

A hum can also result from an impedance mismatch. An Isolation Transformer will help.
Radio Shack Part # 273-1374 or Part # 270-054

Also, look here:
http://forums.radioreference.com/live-audio-feed-administration/215767-humming-my-feed-2.html

And in case you get any crazy ideas, I have already written and copyrighted a new Country Song; "Humming On My Feed".

mmmm I mmmm Hope mmmm This mmm Helps.
 

KC9WWJ

Member
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
20
Location
New Palestine, IN
sorry it took so long to get back to you on this. i havent had much time to play with it between both jobs lately. but, i have been using the line in port, and i read that thread you linked to, and found out its probably because im using a stereo cord. all i have are stereo cords, so it looks like ill be making a trip to rat shack to either get a cable, or the ends to make one. whichever ones cheapest.i will post back with my results, hopefully sooner than later. thanks for the help thus far
 

W1IAR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
4
Location
Collinsville, CT
AC hum

I was plagued with hum too when scanner (PRO-2055) headphone output was plugged into mic input on PC. Went to the Shack and got one of the suggested ground loop eliminators. Happened to spot an "attenuating dubbing cable", 42-2152, on clearance for 99 cents. Got one of them too. Works like a charm, going from speaker out to mic in. Returned the ground loop eliminator.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top