Pro 197 or Win500 problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

racefan0020

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
35
don't know if this is a radio problem or I'm too dumb to figure out Win500. I can run the scanner from Win500 (scan, manual, enter and store conventional freqs. The problem is that when I try to upload to the scanner, I get an error message that says "no response from the scanner". Also, when trying to download the conv. freqs to the computer, error message that says "Timed out recieving xxx bytes". Just like alot of people with this scanner, I'm getting redy to either pull my hair out or put the scanner through the wall
 

brian943

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
70
Location
Moodus, CT
Try stopping the monitor function, upload file to radio, then start monitor function. Can't do both at same time.
I attached an image of error. If that's your message, it's your fix.
 

Attachments

brian943

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
70
Location
Moodus, CT
Reread your original post, am wondering if you have latest version of Win500 (1.94 current version ). Some versions ago there were some download issues addressed. You can control the radio but not upload (correct?), guess that means you have the right port selected, maybe com port speed issue? I have been slowing down my speed because I occasionally have a failed upload, not 100% reliable yet. Was at 4800, had a failed upload, just dropped to 2400, we'll see. Just poking in the dark.
 

racefan0020

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
35
nope, not the prob either. slowed down to 2400 and same message, no response from scanner. also when trying to upload, the scanner screen reads "PC/IF - } FileSys Polling sender. thanks for the ideas so far
 

Bubba1661

WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
882
Location
Charleston W.V.
From having the same problem, Do You have the cable plugged in the right port? I did this one night, was pulling My hair out and Guess What!, I had the cable plugged in the ear phone port!. I felt like a Dummy!!. Put it in right and everything worked fine.
 

darrinhirsh

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
2
Pulling my hair out also...only my problem is that my scanner does everything but upload. It keeps saying Polling Sender: Incorrect Model..heck if I know
 

dougjgray

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2003
Messages
515
Location
Englewood CO
Ome more thing to check if I am wrong oh well worth a shot, you dont need the short piece of cable for the 106 and 197. if you use the mono adapter you will get those errors
 

brian943

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
70
Location
Moodus, CT
Perhaps you can reset radio to defaults? During power on, while welcome screen is on, key in 0, 1. Manual says "clears working memory and resets all Global settings to factory defaults. Does not affect V-Scanners."

0,2 "resets all Global settings to factory defaults. Does not affect working memory or V-Scanners.

0,5 "executes EEPROM memory test, then clears working memory and resets all Global settings to factory defaults. Does not affect V-S
 

racefan0020

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
35
yes, I can still use the remote, the problem only occurs when trying to upload or download
 

racefan0020

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
35
tried to reset and all that got me was to have to reenter all the conv freqs
 

brian943

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
70
Location
Moodus, CT
If you have a friend with similar radio (gre 500/600) maybe get him over to eliminate radio as problem. Try 30 day trial of another programming software product to eliminate that. Also try another USB port. What version Win500? What version windows? Maybe if Vista or 7, can Win500 be run in XP mode? Don't know if that option is available, as I'm running XP.
 

DonS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,106
Location
Franktown, CO
dougjgray mentioned above the little "adapter" that came with the RS 20-047 USB-Scanner cable, but I don't see any confirmation from the O.P.

You're not using that adapter, are you? If so, don't.

Are you running the Win500.EXE program, or Win500_COM.EXE? (You should be using the former.)

What do the cable's LEDs do when you try to upload to the scanner? They should flicker red/green briefly, then the red LED should light up pretty solid for about 12 seconds.
 

racefan0020

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
35
lets see if I can answer some of the questions. only have one cable and 1 scanner. the LED's blink once, but the red never comes back on and I still get the no response from scanner and the scanner screen says "PC/IF - } FileSys Polling sender". using Win500_com.exe. not using the little adapter. not using usb hub. am using Win500 v 1.94, op system is XP. Have also tried PSREdit500 with same result. have even uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers for the 20-047 cable. did the same for Win500. just want to thank everyone for all the ideas. I started playing with scanners back in the early '70s with the crystal sets. This is so totally allian to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top