Raspberry Pi3

DC31

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
1,266
Location
Massachusetts
G,

Does darkice itself stay running through the internet outage? If darkice is dying, that is easy to detect and restart. If it is still running just not feeding the BCFY stream that may be more problematic.

JIm
 

VK2GEL

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
42
Darkice, darksnow and icecast all pop up occasionally in TOP, but none steady.
 

DC31

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
1,266
Location
Massachusetts

JDrisc3480

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
183
Location
Shannon, North Carolina

DC31

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
1,266
Location
Massachusetts
DC31...Thank you for these easy to follow instructions.
A couple more changes for good operation:

1. Open the file /home/pi/.darksnow/darkice.cfg with a text editor. At the end of the first section [ General] add the line reconnect = yes. If you run into permissions problems, try using the nano editor at the command line: sudo nano /home/pi/.darksnow/darkice.cfg
2. Your usb sound card may be either hw:1,0 or hw:2,0. If one doesn’t work, try the other.
 

K3EP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
49
Location
Stafford, VA
I'm a new Pi user with no Linux experience. I'm attempting to use a Pi 3B to stream our ham repeater audio. I'm using Darkice and set it up using the info on this page:
That seemed to go smoothly, with one exception ...

On the darkice config page, what do I put in for the name of the feed? Is it the alphanumeric string I named the feed in my setup request to Broadcastify? Or is it the 5 digit feed ID? Or my log in ID? I have tried them all and am not seeing my feed show up. I have searched every pi page I can find on here with no solution.

I've watched a few youtube videos as well looking for solutions.

Thoughts anyone?

73 de K3EP
 

DC31

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
1,266
Location
Massachusetts
I am pretty sure that BCFY does not pull the entry from the Name field. So it makes no difference what you put in there or if you leave it blank. Look elsewhere for the connection problem you are encountering.

 

K3EP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
49
Location
Stafford, VA
I am pretty sure that BCFY does not pull the entry from the Name field. So it makes no difference what you put in there or if you leave it blank. Look elsewhere for the connection problem you are encountering.

Thanks. I will.
 
Top