Uniden BCD996XT & Trunk88

Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Hello:

I have a BCD996XT scanner with a USB-1 cable. Could someone give me a walkthrough on using Trunk88 with this equipment.

Any help would be appreciated.


Cheers
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Hello:

I have a BCD996XT scanner with a USB-1 cable. Could someone give me a walkthrough on using Trunk88 with this equipment.

Any help would be appreciated.


Cheers
You have downloaded and unzipped http://home.ica.net/~phoenix/wap/TRUNK88/Win32-TRUNK88-481.zip
to a folder/directory.
In the radio:
Menu -> Settings -> C-Ch -> On
Menu -> Settings -> Bauds -> Front or Back -> set speed 4800 to 115200

In the computer running windows:
Find out what com port that windows is using if it is com port 1:
Code:
start -> run.. > cmd.exe (or command.com) -> Ok Button
cd /to/the/folder/where/trunk88.exe/is
trunk88.exe /ccdump1
When prompted for audio device pick anyone, it doesn't matter for /ccdump
Display not working properly in trunk88
Control-L keys
At the box near the bottom of the screen use the down arrow key to select options.
Use ? in the box for help or control-h in a few menus.
Trunk88 does not support 9600 digital control channels use pro96com
There is a trunk88 yahoo group for further support.
The file TRUNK88.CTL has all the settings. You can edit this directly in notepad when trunk88.exe is NOT running.
A file based on the system ID while be created in the trunk88 folder
example: 6B0C.CTL that saves settings for that trunked radio system.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Works Great!

Hello:

Thanks for your help Keith. Trunk88 is now working. The frequencies and talk groups showing up are not the same as the ones that are used for monitoring the system but the sites and system id are the same. Is there a reason. For example, the system frequencies are VHF Hi such as 142.6500 and yet Trunk88 displays frequencies in the 850s and 860s.

Cheers
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
You need to set the band plan for the trunked radio system. If the TRS is on RR then you can get the numbers from there otherwise you will have to expermint to find it.
in the file SYSID#.CTL found in your trunk88 directory edit these lines
Code:
Base Frequency = 851.0125

Step Size = 25.0

Offset = 0

Base Frequency 2 = 851.0250

Step Size 2 = 25.0

Offset 2 = 440

Base Frequency 3 = 0.0000

Step Size 3 = 0.0

Offset 3 = 0
For example my system id for a local trunked system is 3B3C so I edit 3B3C.CTL
to adjust the band plan.
Never edit .CTL files with trunk88.exe running.
 

slicerwizard

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
5,516
Location
Toronto, Ontario

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Hi Folks:

I would like to thank you folks for sharing your knowledge, it has been so helpful.

When I use Trunk88 to monitor bell Fleetnet Zone 1 (ID 782) have to delete the 782.CTL file before Trunk88 will run, otherwise I get the following message:

System File c:\Scanner Software\782.CTL already exists, what have you done?

Anyone know what I am doing wrong?

Cheers
 

eriley

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
29
Hi Folks:

I would like to thank you folks for sharing your knowledge, it has been so helpful.

When I use Trunk88 to monitor bell Fleetnet Zone 1 (ID 782) have to delete the 782.CTL file before Trunk88 will run, otherwise I get the following message:

System File c:\Scanner Software\782.CTL already exists, what have you done?

Anyone know what I am doing wrong?

Cheers
Don't use the Window 'X' to close program. Use the command 'q' to close program when done.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top