HH transceivers and hands-free laws? ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmeisenzahl

This got me wondering, we have laws here in NY state about needing a hands-free device when talking on a cell phone when driving. Are handheld transceivers (e.g. a 2m Yaesu) also covered by this?

Thanks,
Chris

K9WG

IANAL (I am not a lawyer)

but look at the wording of the law. Does it specifically say cellular phone or is it broad enough to cover all modes of communications? It all comes down to how the law would be interpreted by a jury.

Once again IANAL

LtDoc

I'm not that familiar with NY state law, and this is only from 'case law', so take it for what it's worth. One citation was overturned because the ham wasn't using a cell phone, but a transceiver. I figure the judge was going exactly by the wording of the law.
- 'Doc

(IANAL! Me too. I'm low class, but not that low...)

kn0bdy

The police and Commercial Truckers use Push to Talk all the time ( police on cell phones while driving is epicemic). I would think it would only come into question if it led to distracted driving and some form of violation of another driving related law. In MI the highway patrol now has a device that can read all data from your cell phone on site and it is causing contraversy already.

KC0FZZ

I'm not that familiar with NY state law, and this is only from 'case law', so take it for what it's worth. One citation was overturned because the ham wasn't using a cell phone, but a transceiver. I figure the judge was going exactly by the wording of the law.
- 'Doc

(IANAL! Me too. I'm low class, but not that low...)

I was thinking about the same "case law" you may be thinking of. It happened in Troy, New York, where an operator was ticketed for using his HT while driving. The cop copped an attitude and wrote him a traffic ticket and told him to "tell it to the judge". I seem to remember hearing that that prticular incident had a favorable outcome for him, but I can't say for sure...

UberGeek