• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

70 Ft Long Wire

bumper41

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
25
Location
Boyceville, Wisconsin
Hi.. I have finally got around to installing a Long Wire antennae for my Shortwave receiver. I am using 14 Gauge solid copper. For most of you this is probably a silly question. Should I have stripped the insulation. I am not getting any reception. I am properly grounded, insulated at both ends and using 50U Shielded cable to bring it into my shack. Some advise would help. Thanks in advance. Greg
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
6,832
Location
MACOMB, MI.
Not a silly question at all, but you'd probably get more response by having the Moderators move your post to here (don't duplicate posts):


With regards to insulation it really makes no difference.
 

TailGator911

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
1,705
Location
Fairborn, OH
As iMONITOR stated, not a silly question at all, and I just asked the same question last week, I do believe. You can go insulated (plastic coated) or bare wire, makes no difference. Some swear by solid copper, some swear by strand. Fortunately, wire is cheap so there is lots of room for experimentation and expansion. I am about to embark on that journey before the winter weather hits. :)

JD
kf4anc
 

vagrant

ker-muhj-uhn
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
840
Location
California
RED FLAG - They are not getting any reception which is the issue.
1. Check your antenna connections.
2. If your receiver has a switch/setting for the wire antenna, is it set to use it?
3. Can you receive a local AM broadcast station or WWV on 10MHz?

If things look good but no reception, you may need a meter to check the continuity of each line with a meter. If everything checks out but still no reception, your radio may have failed. Hopefully it works out.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,894
Location
Bowie, Md.
While we wait for this thread to be moved, you need to tell us a bit more. What radio or SDR are you using? What are you trying to hear? Unlike scanners, HF is not on 24 hours - you need to listen above 10 Mhz during the day, below this at night. Before you look at this site - which has a basic description of this - make sure your Flash player is on.....


Mike
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,894
Location
Bowie, Md.
Avast is flagging that website with a Trojan - it may be a false positive, but be aware...Mike
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,763
Location
Michigan
I just opened it to get the URL with no warnings. Tell Avast to go back to sleep. I use it regularly to check when I want to use my HF ham radio, especially with conditions being so poor lately.
 

WA0CBW

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,234
Location
Shawnee Kansas (Kansas City)
How did you connect the feed line to the long wire? Usually the feed line would be connected to one end of the long wire. The wire only needs to be stripped at the connection point to the feed line.
bb
 

majoco

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2008
Messages
3,252
Location
New Zealand
Have you connected the long wire directly to the centre of the 50ohm coax? If you don't match them with a transformer then the coax cable is just looking like a capacitor shunting all your signals to ground. You'll need a 9:1 un-un up at the end of the wire to the coax.

Buy one or make your own....

 

a29zuk

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
621
Location
SE Michigan
Have you connected the long wire directly to the centre of the 50ohm coax? If you don't match them with a transformer then the coax cable is just looking like a capacitor shunting all your signals to ground. You'll need a 9:1 un-un up at the end of the wire to the coax.
While, I agree, a 9:1 balun can be used for optimum performance he shouldn't have a problem picking up signals with the center connector hooked directly up to the end of a 70' antenna. Two of my end fed wire antennas work fine this way.

My questions to the op would be:
Did you strip the insulation off of the wire antenna and physically connect it to the coax?
If you did, did you hook it up to the center conductor of the coax or the shield of it or both?
Hooking it up to the center conductor and leaving the shield of the coax open would be proper.
Hooking it up to the shield or both would short it to ground(I had a friend of mine do this).

You also didn't mention what receiver you are using.
If you are using a portable receiver, 70' of antenna could be too much for it, zapping the front end. Some portables have protection for this while others do not.

Jim

Sorry Tom, your post wasn't up when I started posting.
 

bumper41

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
25
Location
Boyceville, Wisconsin
Not a silly question at all, but you'd probably get more response by having the Moderators move your post to here (don't duplicate posts):


With regards to insulation it really makes no difference.
Thank You
 

bumper41

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
25
Location
Boyceville, Wisconsin
Not a silly question at all, but you'd probably get more response by having the Moderators move your post to here (don't duplicate posts):


With regards to insulation it really makes no difference.
Thank You
 

bumper41

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
25
Location
Boyceville, Wisconsin
While we wait for this thread to be moved, you need to tell us a bit more. What radio or SDR are you using? What are you trying to hear? Unlike scanners, HF is not on 24 hours - you need to listen above 10 Mhz during the day, below this at night. Before you look at this site - which has a basic description of this - make sure your Flash player is on.....


Mike
Hi, My receiver is a Realistic DX-300. Believe it or not, I purchased it unused in an unopened box. It has been sitting since it was new 30 or 40 years ago. I am just starting so I do not have a preference yet as to what I want to listen to. GE
 

bumper41

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
25
Location
Boyceville, Wisconsin
While we wait for this thread to be moved, you need to tell us a bit more. What radio or SDR are you using? What are you trying to hear? Unlike scanners, HF is not on 24 hours - you need to listen above 10 Mhz during the day, below this at night. Before you look at this site - which has a basic description of this - make sure your Flash player is on.....


Mike
Thanks, I will check out this link.. GE
 

bumper41

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
25
Location
Boyceville, Wisconsin
How did you connect the feed line to the long wire? Usually the feed line would be connected to one end of the long wire. The wire only needs to be stripped at the connection point to the feed line.
bb
Hi, the Long Wire was connected to the solid center Wire of the coax.. I stripped the Long Wire at this connection and also soldered this connection. The coax is grounded to an earth ground prior to entering my house.
 

bumper41

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
25
Location
Boyceville, Wisconsin
Have you connected the long wire directly to the centre of the 50ohm coax? If you don't match them with a transformer then the coax cable is just looking like a capacitor shunting all your signals to ground. You'll need a 9:1 un-un up at the end of the wire to the coax.

Buy one or make your own....

I have a balun which I originally installed, I removed it after not receiving a signal of any king. However, same result.
 
Top