OP25 Add RC4 (ADP) decryption

Plutonium94

I'd like to add ADP decryption capability to OP25. I have been doing research for a while about RC4 cipher (a.k.a. Motorola ADP), so I do know how the cipher works. I have some experience programming in C, so I'd like to know where I should start. It would be great if Boatbod gave me a hand with this. Thank you.

boatbod

You'd need to intercept the codewords after they are received/reconstructed but before they go to the vocoder to be turned into a pcm stream. Look here.
Code:
p25p2_tdma.cc::handle_voice_frame()
p25p1_fdma.cc:process_voice()

Plutonium94

Code:
if (d_debug >= 9) {
    packed_codeword p_cw;
    imbe_pack(p_cw, u[0], u[1], u[2], u[3], u[4], u[5], u[6], u[7]);
    sprintf(s,"%02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x",
            p_cw[0], p_cw[1], p_cw[2], p_cw[3], p_cw[4], p_cw[5],
            p_cw[6], p_cw[7], p_cw[8], p_cw[9], p_cw[10]);
    fprintf(stderr, "%s IMBE %s errs %lu\n", logts.get(d_msgq_id), s, errs); // print to log in one operation
}

My idea is to apply decryption to p_cw array and then reconstruct the u vectors. To do this I'd need to use an "inverse" imbe_pack function. Then, where is imbe_pack function defined? I couldn't find it anywhere. Do you think my reasoning is ok?

boatbod

Code:
if (d_debug >= 9) {
    packed_codeword p_cw;
    imbe_pack(p_cw, u[0], u[1], u[2], u[3], u[4], u[5], u[6], u[7]);
    sprintf(s,"%02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x %02x",
            p_cw[0], p_cw[1], p_cw[2], p_cw[3], p_cw[4], p_cw[5],
            p_cw[6], p_cw[7], p_cw[8], p_cw[9], p_cw[10]);
    fprintf(stderr, "%s IMBE %s errs %lu\n", logts.get(d_msgq_id), s, errs); // print to log in one operation
}

My idea is to apply decryption to p_cw array and then reconstruct the u vectors. To do this I'd need to use an "inverse" imbe_pack function. Then, where is imbe_pack function defined? I couldn't find it anywhere. Do you think my reasoning is ok?