Droid-star for dmr

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
395
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
TGIF_Prime doesn’t work on my DroidStar, but Network does. Maybe I’ll program the hotspot for TGIF, or DRM+ or FreeDMR, Brandmeister is NOT the only game in town!

I was told I could get a second radio ID DMR number, which might resolve the issue. Anyone get a second a DRM number?
Yes you can have a second number. I have 2. Just apply for it like you did the first I believe
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,530
Location
Michigan
Droidstar seems to work better on older Android devices. My old Samsung tablet and a Motorola phone are both good, but new Moto phone and Fire tablet are no go on DMR, ok on YSA.
 

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
395
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
Droidstar seems to work better on older Android devices. My old Samsung tablet and a Motorola phone are both good, but new Moto phone and Fire tablet are no go on DMR, ok on YSA.
I have no idea about those devices, but I have a galaxy s10 running latest Android update and use it almost daily. Works fine here. What is it doing to not work? I know sometimes I will have to swap from 3101 to 3102 or vice versa, but it still works.
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,530
Location
Michigan
Devices that don't work (Samsung phone, LG phone, new Moto phone, Fire tablets) have a couple of problems. Some will connect, but attempting to transmit disconnects the device. Two of the others will not connect with DMR even though all of my devices have exactly the same setup information. I have tried using a different ESSID, but the results are the same. The devices that do work use the same ESSID and both connect reliably. I have concluded that the cause is likely something that has been modified by the manufacturer from the standard Android firmware due to a design or hardware situation.
 

JohnZon

Newbie
Joined
Sep 5, 2021
Messages
2
I'm pretty new to DMR, my radio is on it's way. And found this app and the windows version. Somehow I managed to get my phone with droidstar connected with BM but when I try to transmit I receive an "access denied" message.
Any clues? Or is this the expected behavior with the problems around Brandmeister?
 

dcr_inc

Feed Provider *York Pa.*
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
705
Location
Delta, Pa
You have to register with brandmeister and add your "password" to the droidstar app.
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,530
Location
Michigan
I have had good results with Droidstar once all the registration work was complete. I use it on both my phone and an Android tablet. I have also used the YSF option successfully. When you add your DMR number, you have to add your ESSID number to the end.
 

JohnZon

Newbie
Joined
Sep 5, 2021
Messages
2
I am connecting on my phone (somehow my PC in the hotel doesn't want to) so I have a DMR ID and have set the hotspot password on the selfcare page.
So after I connect and briefly press the TX button I can receive conversations on TG91, but when I transmitted the system responded with "access denied". But now that I tested it while writing this message it no longer happens.
 

dwh367

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Mar 17, 2003
Messages
417
Location
Owensboro, KY (Daviess County)
For those who are having trouble connecting to Brandmeister that's because Brandmeister has blocked access from Droidstar/Dudestar. If anyone mentions either one of those, in their Telegram support forum, just grab a soft drink and some popcorn and enjoy the show.
 

crazyboy

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Messages
750
Location
NJ
For those who are having trouble connecting to Brandmeister that's because Brandmeister has blocked access from Droidstar/Dudestar. If anyone mentions either one of those, in their Telegram support forum, just grab a soft drink and some popcorn and enjoy the show.
And rightfully so!
 
Top