Need Help New TRX-1

rockbucket

Premium Subscriber
I just bought a TRX-1 because I want to listen to my local police and fire departments. I'm still learning the device but the only problem I'm having is the city police and county sheriff's transmission are very garbled. It's not understandable. It's not a signal problem it's something else. I have a discone antenna mounted 5 feet above my roof. The scanner picks up other police departments 60 plus miles away perfectly. Also my local fire and EMS comes in great. It's just the police and sheriff's department in my town only that you can't understand. The frequencies are Hot Spring County Arkansas 154.785 and 154.935. ZIP CODE is 72104 They are using DMR and it's not encrypted. Please help me. I'm new at all this but at this point I've spent $500 bucks for nothing.
Thanks

tvengr

Well Known Member
Malvern PD shows encrypted in the database:
154.785WNLQ246RMCC 1
TG 99
SL 1
MPD-DIGITALPolice Digital (Encrypted)DMRELaw Dispatch
It is possible that the sheriff is also encrypted but it has not been submitted to the database. You can also check for the Sheriff on the AWIN statewide trunked system. If you attach your TRX-1 programming file, I will take a look at it and check for problems.

Last edited:

rockbucket

Premium Subscriber
Shouldn't the TRX-1 show an E on the display if the transmission is encrypted?

rockbucket

Premium Subscriber
Here is a pic of the display. The audio is garbled similar to a whisper.

Attachments

• IMG_20221213_175531523~2.jpg
    IMG_20221213_175531523~2.jpg
    123.3 KB · Views: 63

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner
Premium Subscriber
Here is a pic of the display. The audio is garbled similar to a whisper.
Welcome to the forums. Picture doesn't tell anything except it appears in the clear. Can you provide an audio sample?

Shouldn't the TRX-1 show an E on the display if the transmission is encrypted?
Yes

Last edited:

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber