Need help using SDRTRUNK with 2 RTL-SDR dongles to listen to Seattle KCERS

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnfeher

I am new to the SDR hobby. On the positive note, I am able to listen/decode Seattle King County/ValleyCom Simulcast (Motorola Type II SmartZone) in Auburn using UNITRUNKER software. When I switch to the SDRTRUNK, (in hopes of perhaps having more control over what talk groups I listen to) all I ever see is a fast scroll of SYNC LOSS - BITS PROCESSED [1570] and [9600] in a regular pattern. Never any actual decoding of the control channel, as far as I can see, no sound, occasionally a couple other messages scroll by. I am wondering what am I missing in the settings, what could be the cause of this. (again, I get both decoding and audio when I use the same hardware with UNITRUNKER)
I use Windows 10, recently built PC and two dongles: IEIK SDRMCX RTL-SDR, FM+DAB, DVB-T USB Stick Set with RTL2832U & R820T
I briefly tried a Linux installation with the same SYNC LOSS results.
I appreciate any suggestions to get me over this bump.

Attachments

• Capture1.JPG
    Capture1.JPG
    55.6 KB · Views: 46
  • Capture2B.JPG
    Capture2B.JPG
    140.8 KB · Views: 52

justabigham

Premium Subscriber
I too live in Auburn and have played with a couple of SDR's on a laptop. Will get them out again and give it a go....

mattwillson

Unitrunker has the ability to let you control what talkgroups you listen to. Due to the low resolution image it's hard for me to see but it kind of looks like your signal is off center. Try setting the correction ppm manually, granted you've determined the correct value for it.

Last edited:

noamlivne

If you are talking about this system: Seattle-King County Public Safety (KCERS) Trunking System, Seattle, Washington - Scanner Frequencies, then Unitrunker is the way to go. SDRTrunk cannot decode Motorola Type II SmartZone.