BCD436HP: Provoice upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

marksmith

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,154
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
By purchasing a key from Uniden and entering to the radio with updated firmware you can do yourself to the 536 and 436.

No idea what you are describing re: DSD+, which is a software program used in a computer, and not a scanner, but you can do that yourself too, just not in a scanner.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
 

ChrisABQ

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Messages
468
Location
Albuquerque, NM
It works great, just MAKE SURE you have an ACTIVE ProVoice system to monitor. ProVoice is a technology that's on the way out, just make sure you need it before you spend $50.
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
11,265
Location
VA
Monitoring ProVoice works fine. For me the value was borderline--not so much useful for local monitoring, but occasionally useful when traveling. It all depends on how many ProVoice systems are active in your area. I got it for completeness rather than because there is a lot of ProVoice in my area.
 

bama9999

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
738
Location
Gulf Coast
Was the provoice upgrade worth it, and does it work well? :)
All county and city public service agencies in the county where I live are ProVoice, and I would have gladly paid twice the price for it. I can monitor it with Unitrunker and DSD+, but that's not really an optimal solution for mobile or portable use, so it added tremendous value to my BCD536HP for me personally.
 

ShyFlyer

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 25, 2013
Messages
625
Location
Colorado
The whole reason I bought my 436 was because of the available upgrade. At the time, I lived in a county where nearly all the public safety traffic was on the city/county EDACS system. I later moved away, but got about a year's worth of use out of the upgrade and I feel it was money well spent.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,544
Location
#850Strong
Depends on the system you also need to make sure you have the correct LCN in order.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top