VIPER Statewide Radio System Discussion

Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
199
Location
Gastonia
I am not receiving a signal from the Taylors Bridge site (03-65) in Sampson County and have not for a day or so. I have tried doing a search of the 700s and 800s used by VIPER and can not find that the site has changed the CC. I am receiving all other sites in my scanner normally.
Hold on your scanner and directly enter your control channel frequency, you should be receiving a signal and maybe (I can't fully remember) static noise.

Also, check to make sure you're running "NAC Search" (if your scanner permits it) because the NAC can change


~B
 

Gregg251

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
59
Location
Greensboro, NC
I've imported VIPER into Win96 to upload into my RS Pro-96 scanner, but am not hearing anything. Is there a certain order that channels have to be entered? I've tried starting with programming several tower sites and haven't been successful. Any ideas are appreciated. Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
199
Location
Gastonia
I've imported VIPER into Win96 to upload into my RS Pro-96 scanner, but am not hearing anything. Is there a certain order that channels have to be entered? I've tried starting with programming several tower sites and haven't been successful. Any ideas are appreciated. Thanks!
What scanner are you using?
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,065
Location
Raleigh, NC
I've imported VIPER into Win96 to upload into my RS Pro-96 scanner, but am not hearing anything. Is there a certain order that channels have to be entered? I've tried starting with programming several tower sites and haven't been successful. Any ideas are appreciated. Thanks!
There are three towers in your county (if location on profile is correct) 1-22 Greensboro A&T, 1-44 Riverdale Rd, and 1-61 Triad Park, I would add all three. All you need to program in on the P25 Phase 1 system is the control channels and alternates for that scanner (each site has one of each). Make sure you include active talkgroups and/or wildcard (wildcard will let you test the sites you added).
 

Tobydog

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
22
I've imported VIPER into Win96 to upload into my RS Pro-96 scanner, but am not hearing anything. Is there a certain order that channels have to be entered? I've tried starting with programming several tower sites and haven't been successful. Any ideas are appreciated. Thanks!
Unfortunately the 2096 does not do the 700 meg frequencies for VIPER. I have one that just has control channels(all 800) and it does fine for local stuff. Check RR and see what is 800. Some different versions of RS scanners do the 700 800.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,065
Location
Raleigh, NC
Unfortunately the 2096 does not do the 700 meg frequencies for VIPER. I have one that just has control channels(all 800) and it does fine for local stuff. Check RR and see what is 800. Some different versions of RS scanners do the 700 800.
PRO96 should do it, I have one (as backup) that I use on the NCSHP Training Center Tower which is 700Mhz
 

trumpetman

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
1,758
Location
Charlotte, NC
I am not receiving a signal from the Taylors Bridge site (03-65) in Sampson County and have not for a day or so. I have tried doing a search of the 700s and 800s used by VIPER and can not find that the site has changed the CC. I am receiving all other sites in my scanner normally.
Any luck with this? You should be able to receive the site now if you check again.
 

ScottE22

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
70
Location
Hickory ,N.C.
Talkgroup 60546 Federal Common 2 has been active off Baker Mountain VIPER tower here in Catawba county N.C.,sounds like an interagency task force.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,065
Location
Raleigh, NC
Hope this an appropriate post, just getting started here on the forums...
As @akalynchs said, as long as they aren't active. But this is regarding traffic on VIPER which is a state system, even though it is a federal TG you should have put it in the VIPER thread under the NC forum for better responses and more interest.

That said were you able to see any radio IDs? That will give you an idea about who you were hearing. A good reference for Viper RID/UIDs is the Radio Reference Wiki

 

ScottE22

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
70
Location
Hickory ,N.C.
As @akalynchs said, as long as they aren't active. But this is regarding traffic on VIPER which is a state system, even though it is a federal TG you should have put it in the VIPER thread under the NC forum for better responses and more interest.

That said were you able to see any radio IDs? That will give you an idea about who you were hearing. A good reference for Viper RID/UIDs is the Radio Reference Wiki

As @akalynchs said, as long as they aren't active. But this is regarding traffic on VIPER which is a state system, even though it is a federal TG you should have put it in the VIPER thread under the NC forum for better responses and more interest.

That said were you able to see any radio IDs? That will give you an idea about who you were hearing. A good reference for Viper RID/UIDs is the Radio Reference Wiki

Radio IDs 2907268,2907219
 

Reconrider

Trx-1 or Sds100
Feed Provider
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
854
Location
CT
I'm not in NC, but wondering what program you're using to monitor the talkgroup
 

Reconrider

Trx-1 or Sds100
Feed Provider
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
854
Location
CT
Think that answers the question
He had two threads when I commented. The one I commented on didn't have the scanner he was using.
A mod merged the thread into this mega thread and I didn't now it until you quoted me now.
 
Top