New IC-R8600 software, need some testers

vince48

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 13, 2001
Messages
863
Location
Central Valley, CA.
one thing to please keep in mind as you roll through versions, user wishes and common sense..... please have every SCANNING option that is available and possible. The R8600 is a super scanner. Also, being able to edit on the fly.

Keep up the excellent work and progress
 

kilocharlie8

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
14
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Hi vince48,

We'll probably jump into the scanner rabbit hole on version two, when we re-do the memory functions. I could definitely see it being some kind of extra tab at the top.

Thanks again,

--E
de W6EL
 

vince48

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 13, 2001
Messages
863
Location
Central Valley, CA.
Thank you and your crew for doing something for the R8600. Maybe for version 2, somehow ro monitor DMR other than NXDEN, please, pretty please
 

kilocharlie8

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
14
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Hi vince48,

I guess if we could get access to the raw I&Q we should be able to pipe it into some other decoders. It's probably beyond the scope of wfview to have other decoders integrated within, but passing to another program should be possible (such as GNU Radio).

If anyone knows how to get the raw I&Q (it is an advertised feature, I think), I'm all ears.

--E
de W6EL
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Janitor/Maintenance
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,716
Location
Marstons Mills, Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Regarding your question on whether the spans that match the 8600's and whether they work or not, they do. I think I was getting fooled by the fact that the app boots to a 2.5 KHz default span.

Finding a way to get the I&Q data out would be great. There are a slew of 3rd party programs that work perfectly in this regard. The SDR-Console software has a workaround where Wide FM is used with a bandwidth of 12 KHz. That is fed via the program's audio output and Virtual Audio Cable or VB Cable software to any of these programs, DSD+, KGTone, etc.. Some tweaking of the FM mode and the filters might make that possible, but I'd have to tinker around with it. There is also a DSD Interface plug-in for the SDR# program that feeds unfiltered audio to these programs, so it is possible.

I checked out some of the neat shortcuts you provided in your reply to me, very nice. Just having the spectrum display from the 8600 up on a big screen with front panel control is a Godsend, the rest is gravy! Good gravy too...not lumpy...;)(y)

Thanks.
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Janitor/Maintenance
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,716
Location
Marstons Mills, Cape Cod, Massachusetts
A few other thoughts...

1. Can you bring the center tuning display out of the 8600?
2. When moving the mouse across the screen, can you have it display approximate frequency? That I think would be helpful. As the mouse moves, there is a display adjacent to the cursor that would show the frequency increasing or decreasing. EDIT: Just discovered the single click to display frequency at the bottom option...cool!
 
Last edited:

kilocharlie8

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
14
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Hi Scott,

What do you mean about the center tuning display? I know it works in center mode (it should).

A "mouse over" frequency status would be cool. I'll see about it. We're probably going to re-work that entire display for version 2, with support for dual-VFO radios and "overlay" functions to show the passband or frequencies of interest.

Keep the ideas and questions coming!

--E
de W6EL
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Janitor/Maintenance
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,716
Location
Marstons Mills, Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Hi,

Maybe a poor choice of words on my part. It is the tuning indicator that shows whether you are on frequency or not. When you are it is in the center of a small horizontal meter on the left upper side of the display. If the signal you're tuning is off frequency the indicator will slide to the left or right depending if you're tuned too high or too low.

Thanks again, I'll hopefully be back in front of the 8600 and your program again sometime this evening.

Scott
 

kilocharlie8

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
14
Location
Los Angeles, CA
KC1UA de W6EL,

Maybe this is an FM discriminator meter? I think my Yaesu FT-221R had this long ago.

If the CI-V dictionary includes this data, then we could potentially add it. I'll check it out.

de W6EL
 

m0vse

Newbie
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
2
Hi, I'm one of the other developers of wfview, do you know if the IC-R8600 supports IF output via LAN? (I know the 9700,705 etc. can) If it does then that may be a way to get a wide enough output for DSD+? I think it outputs audio that is +-8Khz of the VFO frequency but it is raw audio without any demodulation so it may require some processing first?

73 Phil M0VSE
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Janitor/Maintenance
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,716
Location
Marstons Mills, Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Hi Phil,

It does have a 12 KHz IF output option for the LAN port. Sections 2-3 and 16-1 of the manual outline it. I can't attach the manual due to its size but it is available at IC-R8600 | Instruction Manual / Guides | Support | Icom Inc.

Thanks for your efforts!

Edit: if it helps, not related to the LAN port, but I have been able to use the 12 KHz IF out capability of the USB (or IQ, can't remember which off the top of my head) to send unfiltered audio to SDR#, tune that software to 12 KHz, and then pipe the audio out from it to DSD+, so the 12KHz does work in that aspect anyway.
 

m0vse

Newbie
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
2
Edit: if it helps, not related to the LAN port, but I have been able to use the 12 KHz IF out capability of the USB (or IQ, can't remember which off the top of my head) to send unfiltered audio to SDR#, tune that software to 12 KHz, and then pipe the audio out from it to DSD+, so the 12KHz does work in that aspect anyway.
Hi Scott, That is what I am hoping to achieve, I would like to remove the extra complexity of needing SDR# and ideally using the TCP server within DSD+ which would also remove the need for VirtualAudioCable as well.

It may be a while before I get too much time to play with this though as we are focusing on getting our first release out and it doesn't help if I keep adding things :)

73 Phil
 

kruser

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
4,412
Location
West St Louis Cnty, MO
Hi Phil,

It does have a 12 KHz IF output option for the LAN port. Sections 2-3 and 16-1 of the manual outline it. I can't attach the manual due to its size but it is available at IC-R8600 | Instruction Manual / Guides | Support | Icom Inc.

Thanks for your efforts!

Edit: if it helps, not related to the LAN port, but I have been able to use the 12 KHz IF out capability of the USB (or IQ, can't remember which off the top of my head) to send unfiltered audio to SDR#, tune that software to 12 KHz, and then pipe the audio out from it to DSD+, so the 12KHz does work in that aspect anyway.
I've done the exact same but using the 10.7 MHz IF output with SDR# tuned to 10.7 MHz. I really could not tell a difference in what DSD+ was decoding using either IF output method. The 12 kHz output is definitely more flexible with it being able to be assigned to several different ports on the radio.
I've never tried to measure the bandwidth from either output type, 12 kHz or the 10.7 MHz BNC port.
 

kruser

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
4,412
Location
West St Louis Cnty, MO
I found an image online, you'll see the feature I'm referring to circled.

View attachment 103136
That is simply called a "Center Tune" indicator or meter.
I've found it to be pretty darn accurate.
It has a little slack before you see it barely move left or right of center. Set your tuning step to off for 10 Hz tuning and you can count the steps to just knudge the center tune indicator right or left of center. Then tune the other direction while counting the steps again until you see it again just move from dead center but in the other direction. The center frequency will the difference between your step counts.
The signals bandwidth is too wide in some filter modes for needing that precise tuning but it's nice that it's there.
 
Top