NXDN Comes to BCD325P2 and BCD996P2

Status
Not open for further replies.

kc5igh

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
590
Location
Velarde, New Mexico
Then you're up and rolling!

All you need to do is program some NXDN systems/frequencies into your radio,get comfortable, and listen.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
24,192
Location
Bowie, Md.
Does this cover NXDN trunking too, or is it strictly NXDN conventional only? The release notes are not clear on this point. Mike
 

kc5igh

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
590
Location
Velarde, New Mexico
Thanks to Paul and the Uniden team For the NXDN upgrade!

There are more NXDN than there are DMR systems in my neighborhood, and this package breathed new life into my BCD325P2.

My beloved SDS100 is still my primary scanner, but it's nice to also have the NXDN functionality in the '325 now! The '325 is a little more sensitive than the SDS100, which helps once in a while. My only complaint about the '325 is the short battery life, but you can't have everything.

Thanks again, Paul!
 

milcom_chaser

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
967
Just upgraded firmware.
-The improvement in Digital audio alone is worth upgrading to this version of firmware. The muffled bass sounding audio is gone, more high end, very clear. Quite noticeable, a game changer in a mobile environment. Good job UPMan. Did notice some very slight distortion on Digital audio voice peaks. Might be the specific system we are monitoring...
 

oldtimeradio

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
101
Location
Stafford Springs, CT
NO Luck after firmware up.
BCD996P2 manual build, Proscan or ARCXT on Connecticut 700MHz System. All info from Radioreference database.
Nothing works, out of ideas.
My SDS200 working fine on 700MHz.

Sent from my keyboard using my own fingers.
 

phask

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,394
Location
KZZV - SE Ohio
NO Luck after firmware up.
BCD996P2 manual build, Proscan or ARCXT on Connecticut 700MHz System. All info from Radioreference database.
Nothing works, out of ideas.
My SDS200 working fine on 700MHz.

Sent from my keyboard using my own fingers.

Nothing works? Care to explain? Bricked? Programming? Pretty vague post
 

RRR

What?
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,852
Location
SouthEast USA
Does this cover NXDN trunking too, or is it strictly NXDN conventional only? The release notes are not clear on this point. Mike
Well, honestly, it wouldn't do much good for NXDN (or DMR) trunking systems, as the display on the 'P2 won't show relevant info (TG's) needed to determine who you're listening to.

There are several "IP site connect" and "NXDN single freq" radio systems that I can monitor with it, and it works perfectly, as one agency is using the same freq, or if IP connect, the same connected freqs. For trunking systems, I defer to my TRX's
 

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
10,869
Location
BEE00
Well, honestly, it wouldn't do much good for NXDN (or DMR) trunking systems, as the display on the 'P2 won't show relevant info (TG's) needed to determine who you're listening to.

There are several "IP site connect" and "NXDN single freq" radio systems that I can monitor with it, and it works perfectly, as one agency is using the same freq, or if IP connect, the same connected freqs. For trunking systems, I defer to my TRX's
That's not true at all. The scanner must be in Display Mode 2, then it will most certainly show the TGID for DMR trunked systems like Connect Plus. If you have the talkgroups aliased, it will show that as well.
 

RRR

What?
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,852
Location
SouthEast USA
*Correction, for trunking, I prefer my SDS/P2's.

"Display mode 2" ??
 
Last edited:

milcom_chaser

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
967
NO Luck after firmware up.
BCD996P2 manual build, Proscan or ARCXT on Connecticut 700MHz System. All info from Radioreference database.
Nothing works, out of ideas.
My SDS200 working fine on 700MHz.

Sent from my keyboard using my own fingers.
Just upgraded ours a few hours ago flawlessly. Can you be more specific? Your rant is just too vague to diagnose. Get it?
 

wbswetnam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,752
Location
DMR-istan
Just last week I was thinking "Why hasn't Uniden made NXDN available for the 996 & 325 yet?" Lo and behold, my question is answered! I loaded in NXDN into my 325P2... many thanks!
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
9,179
Location
NW Tenn
Dan I have 4 996P2's Sharing the same antenna system ST2 to Stridesberg 4 port feeding 2 8 port Stridesbergs for 18 equal ports with my 5 536's and my SDS200 and the 4 996p2's have more NXDN range than my 536's and SDS200. This is just quick info as I setup the 996p2's Thursday night and work 24 shift Friday so today I get to play more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top