• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

R75 ATT scan mode

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bucko

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,024
Location
Marietta, Ohio
I am a very new R75 owner, just picked it up today to replace my old FRG 7700 ( which still works fine ). I have a few utilities in the scan mode and have the 5mz & 6mz set to ATT ( not the 8mz and 11mz freqs ), I noticed a relay clicking on and off with this ATT. Is this normal ( I figure it is ) and will it be hard on the radio? The owners manuel says you can program this way.
 

brandon

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,462
Location
SoCal
You can turn the clicking off.

Press the ANT|SET button and use the arrows to go to the option that says REC RM and use the big tuning knob to set it to OFF. Then press the ANT|SET button to save and exit.
 

Bucko

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,024
Location
Marietta, Ohio
Brandon
Thanks for your reply but that is your recorder remote setting, however I tried it any way and did not help a thing. The relay only clicks when I have the ATT set for a few chosen freqs in the memory scan. Again thanks for your reply....
 

K0ATC

Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
169
Location
Oklahoma
Theres nothing you can do about that, i assume ATT is your attenuator. Whats the reason you need that on? If you are trying to bring down static noise you are also going to lose signal strength. The relay is doing what it is ment to do, I had an AOR5000A and it was all relays, never had a report of any problems with them and they would go 24/7.
 

Bucko

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,024
Location
Marietta, Ohio
Correct it is my attenuator. The reason I am using the ATT on the 5 & 6mz freqs is the static levels are higher of course than the 8 thru 13mz range. I was pretty sure the relays were doing what they here suppose to do, just concerned about them going in & out so much.Yes I know you lose signal but I can not hear the weaker traffic in that static anyway. Maybe I need to go back to a dipole instead of coax fed long wire.Your answer on how much you used your AOR with the relays being used answered what I really was wanting to know, with the relays in & out so much.
 

K0ATC

Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
169
Location
Oklahoma
Good, im glad we answered your question! I dont know for sure, but i think DSP is an option for the R75, it really works great on my IC-7000. May be something to look at. You should be able to use the squelch to cut off everything below the noise floor, for example if you are getting static to S9 on your meter, you can adjust your squelch up to S9 and the static will lower down but will not take any S-units from a signal above the noise. Give it a try there are much better ways to handle static. The wire will pick up some added noise.
 

Bucko

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,024
Location
Marietta, Ohio
Right, the R75 has the DSP option installed from the factory. I have played with it a bit and it does help bring out the audio from the static on the weaker signals, thanks for the input.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top