• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

2019 Ford Explorer firewall

radiorondon

Newbie
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
2
I'm installing a Kenwood NX-700 2-way into a new (2019) Explorer. On this model the cable boot that runs through to the engine compartment is higher, behind the dash instruments. I'm looking for a wiring diagram on this vehicle (for power options). Or, suggestions to access the battery without drilling through the frame. I prefer not to use the driver side fusebox (interior). Is there any unused wire in the fuse bundle that provides 12v? Any input is appreciated. Also, I tried calling Ford directly and a local Ford service shop, but not much was offered.
 

RFI-EMI-GUY

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2013
Messages
3,210
There might be an upfitters guide for the 2019 Explorer that will identify spare circuits
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
10,789
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
Unless it is a public safety model Explorer, you probably will not find any suitable wiring.

The radio needs to be connected to the battery to get clean power. Tying into existing wiring is often a source of noise and issues that will drive you nuts.

On the firewall grommet, look for a nipple sticking out into the engine compartment. If this vehicle is like any of the Ford full size pickups, modern GM pickups, etc. you should be able to cut the end off that from the engine side and access that way. I have done installs on a couple of F-350's and was able to get a 6 gauge wire through there.
You'll need to feed a wire through from the engine side, and look for it to come out under the dash. Use that to pull the POSITIVE wire for the radio back through the firewall. Carefully route the positive wire to the battery, cover it in split loom. Install a fuse or circuit breaker (radio should be fused at 15 amps) as close to the battery as you can. Run a wire from the fuse or circuit breaker to the positive battery connection point. Make sure all connections are done properly, use quality crimp connectors and crimp tools. A touch of solder on the very end can help prevent issues. I follow that up with a layer of marine grade/adhesive lined heat shrink to protect the connection and provide strain relief.

Do NOT connect the negative lead to the battery. These vehicles have a sensor on the existing negative lead going to the body that senses current consumption. Bypassing that by running the negative lead for the radio, which in turn will be grounded at the radio chassis and antenna, will bypass this feature. There's usually mention of this in the owners manual.
Instead, run the negative lead to a grounding point under the dash. This provides a short ground path. I usually ground the radio chassis too.

You can use the yellow wire coming out of the back of the radio for ignition sense. You'll have to sniff around the wiring to find an ignition switched source. The ignition switch wire kit from Kenwood (KCT-46) will come with a 3 amp fuse. You can make your own cheaper with a female bullet connector, a fuse holder, 3 amp fuse and some wire. Program the radio to use the ignition switch circuit (with the timer if you want) to have the radio turn on/off with ignition.
 

12dbsinad

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,042
There is a spot to drill a small hole thru the firewall on the passenger side. You'll need to remove the glove box assembly to gain access. This is done by removing the white plastic push pins underneath the box and disconnecting the release cable on the side that gives the glove box resistance as it opens.

You may have to use a long bell bit to drill as it's tight access. Don't forget to install a grommet. Don't forget to check and triple check both sides for obstructions before you drill. Follow the wiring connections that mmckenna mentions as that is all sound advise.
 

ke0hfc

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
45
Use the boot for the hood release cable. Pop a hole in it with an awl or other long sharp tool then use a coat hanger to fish the wiring thru it.

The retail explorer does have the same foot well fuse block as the police version and the electrical manual can assist in figuring out which of the available "police option" circuits would be of use if you want to go that route.

I went thru this wiring my FT8900 in our 2017.
 

dwgelle

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Messages
222
Location
Meeker Co.- MN
In my 2013 I went in under the Dash on the passenger side upper Right corner there is a boot where the Rear Washer Fluid tube runs in the the cab. It is a little tight though getting your hand up there. from both sides.
 

rmurphy4

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
5
Location
Edmonton,Alberta
do you have any pictures of your install? i will be doing some radio installs on the 2019 ford explorer and would like some ideas on where to run cables. Also would like to see where you mounted the radio itself. THanks
 

genemalet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
109
Location
Hickory Flat Ga
I went to a radio shop that installs car stereos. They drilled the hole and ran the cable, put a nice fuse at the battery for 60 bucks. Done and done.....
 

fourthhorseman

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
2,072
Location
So Far Away....
I had to penetrate the FW at the upper right behind the glove box/ access point for the rear wiper fluid line.

almost no tools required.

I have a 2016 XLT.
 
Top