Op25 help

lcat06

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2024
Messages
40
I have installed op25 but I get a no attribute “get gain names” error… I was I guess completely unaware that op25 doesn’t have a gui. What programs can decode p25 phase 2 that can run on a raspberry pi 3 that have a easy to navigate gui? Thank you! Please help
 

boatbod

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
3,499
Location
Talbot Co, MD
I have installed op25 but I get a no attribute “get gain names” error… I was I guess completely unaware that op25 doesn’t have a gui. What programs can decode p25 phase 2 that can run on a raspberry pi 3 that have a easy to navigate gui? Thank you! Please help
Not many applications will run properly on a RPI3 and decode p25 phase2. If you need a fancy GUI perhaps you should consider obtaining some beefier hardware and looking at SDRTrunk. If you want to continue with the RPI3 you'll find that op25 will do a more than acceptable job of receiving any P25 system using just a single RTL dongle.

The error you are seeing is caused by op25 not being able to connect to the SDR (RTL) device. There are many possibilities, but the most likely is either the dongle is not properly plugged in, or the kernel blacklisting didn't work. Have you rebooted since compiling and installing the op25 sources using the install.sh script? Assuming you did all this, open a terminal and run the "lsusb" command and look for a "Realtek" device. Also look at the /etc/modprobe.d directory for the existence of the file "blacklist-rtl.conf". After that report back with screenshots of the logs etc.
 

lcat06

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2024
Messages
40
Not many applications will run properly on a RPI3 and decode p25 phase2. If you need a fancy GUI perhaps you should consider obtaining some beefier hardware and looking at SDRTrunk. If you want to continue with the RPI3 you'll find that op25 will do a more than acceptable job of receiving any P25 system using just a single RTL dongle.

The error you are seeing is caused by op25 not being able to connect to the SDR (RTL) device. There are many possibilities, but the most likely is either the dongle is not properly plugged in, or the kernel blacklisting didn't work. Have you rebooted since compiling and installing the op25 sources using the install.sh script? Assuming you did all this, open a terminal and run the "lsusb" command and look for a "Realtek" device. Also look at the /etc/modprobe.d directory for the existence of the file "blacklist-rtl.conf". After that report back with screenshots of the logs etc.
Gotcha I figure it out… dongle was not plugged in lol. I do have another problem however. Op25 runs on my computer but I can only see the tgid’s so I uploaded the alpha tag file and when I try to start it, I don’t get an error message just nothing happens and it goes to the next line. I have been following John’s tech blog op25 revisited please help
 

boatbod

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
3,499
Location
Talbot Co, MD
The tgid tag file must be <tab> separated two column (tgid<tab>tag) or three column (tgid<tab>tag<tab>priority), with unix format line termination <LF>, not pc format <CR><LF>. You can use the "dos2unix" command to fix the latter, but the tab separation is best handled with the proper export from a spreadsheet.

What error are you seeing before op25 returns to the command prompt?
 

lcat06

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2024
Messages
40
The tgid tag file must be <tab> separated two column (tgid<tab>tag) or three column (tgid<tab>tag<tab>priority), with unix format line termination <LF>, not pc format <CR><LF>. You can use the "dos2unix" command to fix the latter, but the tab separation is best handled with the proper export from a spreadsheet.

What error are you seeing before op25 returns to the command prompt?
I am attaching text of what I tried to run. My tgid file is called JeffCo - Sheet 1.tsv and my regular trunk.tsv file just contains my system info with the control freq. the system name is JeffCo and control frequency is 857.5375 and I verified this being the control freq via sdr trunk. I am using one rtlsdr. If you could can you correct this line? Also I would like for it to open the web gui as well. Thank you so much!


This is the code… didn’t let me upload picture:



admin@raspberrypi:~/op25/op25/gr-op25_repeater/apps $ ./rx.py --args 'rtl' -N 'LNA: 47' -S 2400000 - f 857.5375e6 -0 25000 - 9 -2 - T trunk. tsv -V -2 -U 2> stderr-stream0.2



admin@raspberrypi:~/op25/op25/gr-op25_repeater/apps $
 

boatbod

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
3,499
Location
Talbot Co, MD
You can change log priority by setting the "-v <level>" parameter, where <level> is from 0 to 11
e.g.
Code:
./rx.py --args "rtl" --gains 'LNA:36' -S 1000000 -v 11 -2 -U -T trunk-test.tsv 2> stderr.2

Looking at the command line you posted, you can probably trim it down a little, and eliminating the spurious "- 9" is probably going to help a bunch. Try this one:
./rx.py --args 'rtl' -N 'LNA: 47' -S 1000000 -0 25000 -2 - T trunk. tsv -V -2 -U 2> stderr-stream0.2
Note: you probably don't need "-O 25000" unless you're running a really old RTL dongle with a dc spike (or a hackrf)
 
Top