BCD325P2/BCD996P2: BCD996P2 programming there has to be a faster way...

trevin8

Premium Subscriber
Hello all.
I just picked up a BCD996P2 that I will be using in some upcoming road rallies. I purchased the GPS unit to go with it Id like to be able to listen to Highway patrol, police and sheriffs as i pass through each county. I have scanpro and I have started working on a database to upload to my unit but it seems to be incredibly time consuming.
The other issue is states that have too many counties when i got to upload it gives me a warning about groups of 20 or more that its my max. Not sure how to break them apart.
I have successfully uploaded everything in my area and its working great but im a total noob.

Any hints or tricks here that i'm missing?

Thanks in advance.

BC_Scan

welcome to the world of programming a scanner, I feel the pain but it beats programming by hand , u are in the same boat that we all are, you could have saved a minute of time maybe with sentinel and a bcd536 as many things are allready in a database, but with that model you got to have patience . no other way, of course save your work then adding as needed becomes easier.
As i travel my province for work Im constanly adding to my two portables
good luck

trevin8

Premium Subscriber
welcome to the world of programming a scanner, I feel the pain but it beats programming by hand , u are in the same boat that we all are, you could have saved a minute of time maybe with sentinel and a bcd536 as many things are allready in a database, but with that model you got to have patience . no other way, of course save your work then adding as needed becomes easier.
As i travel my province for work Im constanly adding to my two portables
good luck
Ok, well then that verifies it. Thank you for that. I guess just sitting down and making lists.
How about the grouping? How do i break them up so they are less than 20 if there are too many counties in one state? Cant seem to figure that out.

Whiskey3JMC