BCD436HP/BCD536HP: Uniden BCD463HP Austin

johnthequack

Hello,

I am new to police scanning and I bought a Uniden BCD463HP. I think the issues I am running into involve simulcast but I’m not sure. I can see so many channels.. but the scan never lands on them. Whenever it does land on a channel it’s never for long and has a broken transmission. Most of the time it’s just quiet. I can see the frequency strength bars, but I can’t get the audio to be close to consistent if at all. Whenever I hold it on a channel that I can see frequency many times I will never hear anything. Any help would be much appreciated. Before anyone asks, close call and priority are not on. Thank you.

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Hello,

I am new to police scanning and I bought a Uniden BCD463HP. I think the issues I am running into involve simulcast but I’m not sure. I can see so many channels.. but the scan never lands on them. Whenever it does land on a channel it’s never for long and has a broken transmission. Most of the time it’s just quiet. I can see the frequency strength bars, but I can’t get the audio to be close to consistent if at all. Whenever I hold it on a channel that I can see frequency many times I will never hear anything. Any help would be much appreciated. Before anyone asks, close call and priority are not on. Thank you.
See my answer to your same question down in the Texas forum.

Unfortunately, as noted in this thread in the Texas Forum, Austin & Travis County appear to be starting to switch to encrypted talkgroups, which would negate any scanner's ability to receive them.

Post a link to the system and site your monitoring.
Dave, the system in question is Simulcast Site 7 on the GATRRS system, which includes the Austin area among a number of other counties.

Ubbe

Check digital hold time, Favorite level. I set my 436HP and SDS 100 on 1 second.